Seeing FSX for the first time

HGNK

I have been simming for 20 years, and the other night I discovered something by accident that has made my simulator look more real than I could have hoped for. I guess I am one of those who took the moniker seriously, as I have tried all manner of things in the past to acheive this... 3D glasses, super large monitors (a 50 inch wide screen TV), REX, EZdok. I typically, and highly recommend customising airports by changing texture files (runway and taxiway textures including taxiway and runway marks textures) which can be easily done (best to save your complete main original Texture folder so you can revert back if you accidently lose a file). In fact by using grass textures, you can remove all runways, taxiways and markings and turn your airport into a grass field which is pretty cool if you want to simulate a field from the 1940s. Or you can replace a runway texture with the dirt runway texture, or sand. 3D was pretty cool but I have never had a 100% satisfactory experience over the years, and the complication of nvidia stereo drivers and ghost images, especially lights has kept me away from 3D for a long time now. Currently I run EZdok, which is simply the best addon ever created in my opinion and makes flying in the virtual world feel a bit more real. Well to cut a long story short, for a few years now I have experimented with using a "smaller" screen when using fsx, as I have always found the fs world buildings and textures to be a bit "cartoon-like". By running in window mode and reducing the window size I found fs looks more real in the past, but it became not possible to see the VC dials etc so I found that not very good, though it improved how the fsx world looks.