Mystery. Outbound AI Traffic at Victorville (KVCV) refuse to take off. Stumped.

JonBuck

Departing AI traffic at Victorville -KVCV- (the old George AFB in the high desert of California) won't take off. They taxi out to the assigned runway, stop and then time out. Has anyone encountered this problem...or figured out why? I sure can't.

Here's what happens: Victorville has crossing runways; 18/36 and 3/21. Rwy 36 is the active one. ATC tells departing traffic to taxi to RWY 36 via RWY 3 and hold, instead of instructing them to taxi via a connecting and more direct ramp taxiway © which leads right to RWY 36. The AI traffic all dutifully taxi out via Taxiway D and turn on to RWY 3 as ATC instructs and proceed to the hold line. When there they stop and then......never enter RWY 36 and leave. They are all stacked up and one by one...time out and disappear.

I know the workings of AI traffic is complicated and tricky, and I'm no expert in that area. Have tried removing taxiways and even RWY 3/21 entirely in an effort to force ATC to take the traffic directly to RWY 36 via the ramp Taxiway C and let 'em take off...but to no avail. Even when I remove RWY 3/21 entirely, AI TFC just turn and taxi out where the runway once was, across the desert floor. Really looks weird!!

If I call Tower to taxi for departure I get the same message (RWY 36 vis RWY 3 and hold) and line up behind the AI guys, burning expensive JP4 until they all time out and let me move up to RWY 36 for my own takeoff. Helluvaway to run an airport!!!!

Any experts in FS9 AI matters ever encountered this problem? I suspect it must have something to do with the way the airport was created in FS9. Some universal rule must have been violated when the creators made up the airport.

Anybody able/willing to solve this mystery?

JonB :confused: