New to flightsim

peterac

Hi all,

Sorry for the basic post here:

I'm new to flightsim and I have some questions. I have FSX Deluxe Edition sitting in a draw for sometime now. The computer I had was not geared for FS so I never really got into it. I recently purchased a new computer that has a nice amount of horsepower and graphics capability. I don't have all the specs handy, but tt's considered a gaming computer.

So here are the questions I have:

1. I am a private pilot and I have not flown in a long time. I would like to use FS to get reacquainted with flying before I start flying with an instructor. With this in mind, are there any suggestions right off the bat that I should follow in order to get the most realistic experience possible?

2. I have no idea what the Steam version is. Should I care?

3. I fly in the Northeast (Long Island)...is there a must-have add-on that I should install?

4. I will be flying a C-172. Is there a must-have add-on to make the C-172 more realistic?

4. I have a 250GB SSD in this new computer. Should I install FS on this drive or should I install it on my secondary 1TB standard drive? I know the basic program will fit but I am concerned that I might run out of room as I add things.

5. What is VATSIM all about? It seems like having actual live ATC would really allow for a realistic experience. Do most people on here also do the VATSIM thing?

Any other recommendations would be great based on what I am trying to get out of FS.

Thanks,

Pete (Long Island, NY)

Welcome aboard! Sit down and fasten your seatbelt!;)

1. The most realistic experience will come with payware/freeware addons for FSX like aircraft, airports and scenery in general, especially if you are a GA flyer.

2. The FXS-Steam Edition is a relaunch of FSX with Acceleration and some minor tweaks applied. I would start with what you already have.

3. There are many addons for the Northeast Long Giland included! (see, I know how it's pronounced!).