Is Prepar3D same as FSX

sungaila

Hi just a quick question is P3D basically a repackaged FSX, and will it run smoothly on Win 10 out of the box?

Reason is I have FSX gold but it won't install on Win 10 for me. I have Xplane 10 but find it frustrating compared to the FS product line which I have had since the 1980s.

I like enhanced scenery areas for sightseeing, Xplane not so great in that regard. Sim accuracy not that important to me, I was a real pilot.

Trying to decide if dropping another $70 or so is worthwhile.

Thanks in advance,

Ray

Oakville Ontario

P3D is a considerably enhanced sim that was originally based on FSX, but there are LOTS of changes, including much greater use of the graphics card and many extra features, so no, it's not "a repackaged FSX." It is backward compatible with SOME of the FSX add-ons, but far from all.

Whether it will run smoothly depends on your system but, for me, it was smoother and higher frame rates than FSX when I made the switch last year.

Larry N.

As Skylab would say:

Remember: Aviation is NOT an exact Science!

I'd urge you to fix the Win 10 problem. First.

P3D will expose any weaknesses in your system.

But it does come with a 60-day refund so you can try it and see.

It's about as far from FSX in its current v3.xx version as FSX was from FS2004. But none of that matters if you can't use the advanced features.

Consider FSX Steam its 5 bucks when on sale, (which I think it is), p3d v3 is only slightly better looking and performing. I own both and while aircraft and shadows look much better in p3d I find scenery is better in FSX.

Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk

I find scenery is better in FSX.

What's different? Are you running with HDR enabled or not? I ask because a friend prefers P3D with HDR off, while I mostly prefer it on, except maybe at night.

Larry N.

As Skylab would say:

Remember: Aviation is NOT an exact Science!