Questions About ILS/VOR Approaches

Floydturbo

I have been learning FSX for over four months now. I have spent a good 2 to 4 hours a day, sometimes more, learning navigation, landing techniques, and such. Of all the things that cause the most trouble is the ILS approach. It is so inconstant. I will do the same thing over and over but it will act different more times than not. The autopilot will catch the ILS signal 50% of the time. Sometimes it will also meet the runway at a say 5% angle. A lot of times it will also not catch the glide slope but will catch the runway. If it does one shouldn't it do the other too? The purpose of the ILS is to be able to fly blind until the last minute upon seeing the threshold of the runway. If things aren't performing properly, like as I have described above, then it's too late to correct and you're dead. I would love to master this ILS thing before moving on to other functions but I just can't get past these ILS inconsistencies. Anyone out there have any insight into this? Is it a programming error? Is it a computer glitch or software glitch? Love to get someone else's input on this.

Thanks. DR

The ILS approach is a precision approach and does an excellent job of guiding the aircraft to the runway, assuming it is interpreted & flown correctly. Your comments beg several questions that should be addressed before any further advice is given. That is, are you using and are you familiar with the ILS approach plate for the airport you wish to land at?