Newby Wants To Fly Through Grand Canyon

greenemup

I just retired from the airlines. Before that I was a USAF pilot. I once flew an A-7D through the Grand Canyon. (Anyone doing it today I would get thrown in the federal penitentiary.) I want to try and replicate that flight. I know little about Flight Sim and the information available on line overwhelms me. Would an experienced Flight Sim user be kind enough to baby step me through the process of re-visiting that long ago experience? Thanks. I'm running Windows 8 on a PC.

I have done it, even though the Grand Canyon in FSX is not as wide as in 'real' life. You can modify an airplane to fly fast by changing it's FDEs (flight dynamics / edit's). Here is a video I made in 2014. I can help you with some tips that will make it easier. In the video you will notice I have a window (press '[' to open, the choose 'outside/top down' view). This 'radar' will help you 'find' the sharp curved part so you can plan ahead a bit.

The ac is a Boulton Paul P.111, by Kaz Ito, Modified (for FSX) to fly 650 kts+. Start Grand Canyon West (1G4) then East to Page (KPGA). Piece of cake (after a few practice runs, of course). Link:

We can get together via email. I don't have a fast enough DSL to fly online, so that is out. I'll PM you my email. Go For It!

Chuck B

Napamule

i7 2600K @ 3.4 Ghz (Turbo-Boost to 3.877 Ghz), Asus P8H67 Pro, Super Talent 8 Gb DDR3/1333 Dual Channel, XFX Radeon R7-360B 2Gb DDR5, Corsair 650 W PSU, Dell 23 in (2048x1152), Windows7 Pro 64 bit, MS Sidewinder Precision 2 Joy, Logitech K-360 wireless KB & Mouse, Targus PAUK10U USB Keypad for Throttle (F1 to F4)/Spoiler/Tailhook/Wing Fold/Pitch Trim/Parking Brake/Snap to 2D Panel/View Change. Installed on 250 Gb (D:). FS9 and FSX Acceleration (locked at 30 FPS).

Nice aircraft from that download! Takeoff was from the Flagstaff, Az. airport.

[ATTACH=CONFIG]181019[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=CONFIG]181020[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=CONFIG]181021[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=CONFIG]181022[/ATTACH]