FSX SID/STAR's

I've been playing FSX for a couple of years now but just cant seem to figure out how SID's work.

For example: if flying from Chicago O'Hare to Detroit Metro (KDTW) and departing from runway 27L, FSX generated the following flight plan:

KORD

GIJ (VOR 115.4)

BENJO (INT)

CRL (VOR 115.7)

KDTW

I'm having a difficult time translating the path from the runway to GIJ. The plates on the online sites make no sense.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Patrick

Hi, first you need to know that FSX does not do SIDS'STARS internally. You need to either manually add them or select them from an FMC equipped aircraft. Trying to add them is a real bugger though as the FSX data base is 8 years old now and not updated, whereas Navigraph data for FMC's IS current (if you have the latest), but FSX will not 'read' it. To use it you must use the FMC and LNAV/VNAV or manually follow it using the MCP/AP.

The plan you listed is either a low (below 18K) altitude or high(above 18k) altitude (I didnt check it) route. You would need to plan your own intercept course to pick up the route using that. You dont say what plane you are flying so no way to know if it has an FMC, but if it does you can usually choose a SID that is available but on that short a route, I wouldnt bother.

Personally when I fly jets I just use the FSX VOR/VOR flight plan, that way it doesnt list all the useless waypoints, only the VOR's for the route.

The SID for ORD is pretty basic in that there is only one as compared to other airports that have several.

This is the plan view- http://155.178.201.160/d-tpp/1505/00166OHARE.PDF

...and here is the text- http://155.178.201.160/d-tpp/1505/00166OHARE_C.PDF

The gist of it is "Expect RADAR vectors to first enroute navaid/fix".

All the plan view tells you is...

1) if you have DME you should be above 3000' by 5 DME ORD and above 4000' by 8 DME ORD.