PMDG FMC: Inputting the route

crazyguy18

Ok. So i'm very new to this and I wanted something more realistic for flying hence, why I bought the PMDG 737NGX for FSX. However, I am having trouble using the FMC to input the way points. I'm going off a flight plan that I got from Flight Aware from KLAX-PANC. It takes the first waypoint but when I try to put in the second one or any other for the route, it says invalid. How can it be invalid if the waypoints are on the map itself. I don't know what to do and I have been over the manuals for the FMC but cannot figure it out. Can somebody help please? this is the route I'm trying to do:

VTU5 RZS J88 PYE J143 ENI FOT KYLLE B453 KATCH B453 MDO YESKA5

It takes the VTU5 but won't take anything else after.

Crazyguy18

You could view various youtube videos that show you the FMC procedures. Take time to read the documentation that comes with the software as well.

Also, you could use a flight planning program that will export the flight plan into PMDG format like FS Commander,etc. That way you can input the coroute in the FMC and it will populate the waypoints for you.

JOE- Asus P8Z68- V Pro; CPU: Intel i7-2600K 3.4ghz OC'd 4.6Ghz,

8G Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR3-1600, EVGA 1080Ti 11G ACX Cooler

Samsung 500G OS drive, 3 WD 1T Raptor HDD

VTU5 RZS J88 PYE J143 ENI FOT KYLLE B453 KATCH B453 MDO YESKA5

It takes the VTU5 but won't take anything else after.

Crazyguy18

You first need to analyze the route which part is what. Then type in your route as described in the manuals.

This route description contains the departure and arrival procedure respectively (VTU5, YESKA5). These are not waypoints, but procedures, you choose them, when your flightplan has been entered. The J88/J143/B453 are not waypoints either, they are airways and need to be put into the FMS plan accordingly.

The route itself is a bit strange, because looking at the chart

http://www.fly.faa.gov/Information/west/zla/lax/atcCharts/LAX_DP_00237VENTURA.pdf