What Do I Buy As A Newbe?

stormer

hi i am new to this im hoping some one can give me advice wanting to get in to the flight sim i need to purches the correct stuff i know i need to purchess microsoft x gold just watched utube dan the great hd landing punta cana what gear is he using switches even camra veaws can some one give me advice please

regards

stormer

Hi stormer,

You do not "need" to purchase FSX Gold. The Steam version of FSX is equivalent except does not contain some software for creating new objects for use in FSX. The missing software is available for free on line. It's likely that when the video you watched was made the Steam edition was not available.

The videos are the result of hours of work; not what you experience in real time. Just as a movie is the result of many different scenes with different camera angles and much editing and composition the same is true of the videos you see.

Just about any computer can be used to create the videos as the scenes can be saved at very slow speeds which allows all the computer processing be done for each "frame" of the movie before the need arises to create the next. Then the result is sped up so that the result looks normal.

What you'll experience, as a user, is dependent on your computer and what additional software you have.

Jim F.

Welcome to the Forums, stormer!

One other thing... bear in mind that the Airplane used in the Video (the PMDG B737NG) is a highly complex aircraft, with a very steep Leaning Curve; it's also spendy, at $69.95 USD.

It's highly advisable to start out slow, and go through the Tutorials that are included in FSX. Learn the Fundamentals of Flight, and practice, practice, practice! As you become more proficient, then you can move into more complex airplanes. RW Pilots go through the same regimen; it can save you lots of time and frustration in the beginning.

Hope this helps!

Alan :pilot: