Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 50

Thread: Differences between P3D and FSX

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Burbank CA USA
    Posts
    1,785

    Default Differences between P3D and FSX

    There are a lot of questions about the differences between FSX and P3D as far as how it runs, how it is set up, hardware, etc.

    Might be a good idea to list what you have found to be different in using P3D, both good experiences and bad.

    Off the top of my head I can think of a few:

    1) No start screen - handled beautifully by the freeware SimLauncher - available in the Flightsim Library

    2) default LOD Radius is 6.5 as compared to 4.5 for fsx

    3) Requires little or no tweaking right out of the box

    What have you found?

    Vic
    P3D Rig
    I7 3770K @ 4.73ghz Asus Sabertooth Z77 16G G.Skill 1600 7-8-7-24 2T 2 x EVGAGTX970SC SLI Corsair 1000W PSU 1TB Samsung SSD for P3D - 2 - 256G OCZ Vector SSD - HAF 942 - Corsiar H100i Liquid Cooler W7 64 Home Premium.

  2. Default

    The big one for me is simple. P3D does not CTD like FSX did for me for years no matter what fixes or tweeks I did.

    Bottom line:
    FSX=Unstable
    P3D=Stable

    Moe

  3. #3

    Default

    1. You must turn off the under water simulation or you will have an FPS hit.
    2. The texture slider is actually 4x the size it was in FSX. So if you were running large before you should be running medium....

  4. #4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MoeWoodworth View Post
    The big one for me is simple. P3D does not CTD like FSX did for me for years no matter what fixes or tweeks I did.

    Bottom line:
    FSX=Unstable
    P3D=Stable

    Moe
    Glad to hear... we all knew Flight would only last us so long

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Burbank CA USA
    Posts
    1,785

    Default

    Not a difference but should be noted -

    as with FSX - P3D is best NOT installed to the default ProgramFiles(x86) folder - Put it in it's own folder, or preferably on it's own drive.

    Also, run the install with full administrator rights on your system.

    Vic
    P3D Rig
    I7 3770K @ 4.73ghz Asus Sabertooth Z77 16G G.Skill 1600 7-8-7-24 2T 2 x EVGAGTX970SC SLI Corsair 1000W PSU 1TB Samsung SSD for P3D - 2 - 256G OCZ Vector SSD - HAF 942 - Corsiar H100i Liquid Cooler W7 64 Home Premium.

  6. Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MoeWoodworth View Post
    The big one for me is simple. P3D does not CTD like FSX did for me for years no matter what fixes or tweeks I did.

    Bottom line:
    FSX=Unstable
    P3D=Stable

    Moe
    Same for me. Stable = heaven

  7. Default

    I haven't read about any VC issues anywhere else, but I just noticed a couple of issues with the VC on my MAAM DC3. The cockpit switches are not clickable in P3D. Also, the panel lights in the VC don't work. Anybody care to comment?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Imlay City, Michigan
    Posts
    8,397

    Default

    The P3D Developers version, vs a tweaked(minor) FSX, has shown me very little. In their default configurations, both run good for me.
    BUT, I must be one of the "fortunate few" that 3 minor tweaks to FSX has given me a very stable sim. As stable as P3D.
    UIautomationcore.dll fix, [BUFFERPOOLS] UsePools=0, [GRAPHICS] HIGHMEMFIX=1.

    Add-Ons to either sim can create issues. Install the Add-Ons, one-at-atime, and thoroughly test. or
    Ex: The same duff traffic file caused the same OOM on P3D, and FSX, when trying on the same rig, or on two different computers.

    Hardware, OS, Install method, and how you hold the mouse, are probably the reasons for the wide disparity in success with FSX vs P3D.

    I think that P3D is an excellent alternative for those that have issues with FSX and meet the qualifications of a P3D License.

    Myself, I'm anxiously awaiting P3D v2.0. No more "occasional", $10 a shot, peeks at it!...Don
    HAF 932 Adv, PC P&C 950w, ASUS R4E, i7-3820 5.0GHz(MCR320-XP 6 fans wet), GTX 970 FTW
    16GB DDR3-2400, 128GB SAMSUNG 830(Win 7 Ult x64), 512GB SAMSUNG 840 Pro(FSX P3D FS9)
    WD 1TB Black(FS98, CFS2&3, ROF, etc.), WD 2TB Black-(Storage/Backup)

  9. #9

    Default

    Another,
    i just read "the list of aircraft available with P3D", very short, no commercial jets.

    Is there more in the professional version ?
    FSX ACCELERATION, ASUS P5QPL VM-INTEL E5400-2.7GHZ-DDR2RAM4GO-WINDOWSXPSP3 -GT220GEFORCE
    if you never wonder about something, its because you know everything....

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Burbank CA USA
    Posts
    1,785

    Default

    Lefu -

    No. Although if you have FSX, they easily port over. There are also quite a few big iron add-ons that would keep you happy too.

    Vic
    P3D Rig
    I7 3770K @ 4.73ghz Asus Sabertooth Z77 16G G.Skill 1600 7-8-7-24 2T 2 x EVGAGTX970SC SLI Corsair 1000W PSU 1TB Samsung SSD for P3D - 2 - 256G OCZ Vector SSD - HAF 942 - Corsiar H100i Liquid Cooler W7 64 Home Premium.

Similar Threads

  1. Imaginesim VIDP, differences between FS9 and FSX versions?
    By nicky9499 in forum The Outer Marker
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-05-2012, 12:00 PM
  2. Differences (IFR) between USA and UK
    By RyanbATC in forum The Outer Marker
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 04-25-2009, 03:15 PM
  3. Differences between FS2004 and Outer Marker forums
    By sandokan in forum The Outer Marker
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-15-2007, 07:34 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-13-2006, 12:04 AM
  5. differences between FS2002 acft and FS2004
    By eskimo in forum Aircraft Design Archive
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-20-2004, 12:58 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •