Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: BMP to JPG

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Victoria, Australia.
    Posts
    24

    Default BMP to JPG

    Is it possible to change the default saving of screen grabs in FSX from BMP to JPG.
    Because of the formers size I'm always converting them to JPG.

    Yours in Appreciation,

  2. #2

    Default

    I don't think it's possible. See, we all like to have the screenies in JPG, but for that we have to convert them.
    But you're the first one who asks
    Keep up soaring,

    GermanPilot

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Matthews, NC USA
    Posts
    3,636

    Default

    Hello Jesper.
    Saving them first in the BMP format preserves a much higher quality picture for use later. Saving anything into a JPG format will reduce the overall picture quality of a screenshot. I use FSScreen to capture my screenshots (automatically saved as BMP) by pressing the PrtScrn button. I then use EZ-Thumbnails to resize the pixels to fit within the 195.3kb restrictions of this Forum. EZ-Thumbnail automatically converts them to the JPG format when saving.

    I have the EZ software settings set to Autodetect, algorithm=Smart, Resize=Shrink-to-Fit. I can adjust the total pixel size by just clicking the mouse up, or down the scale. It's very easy to use, hence the name. And it's all FREE.

    I hope this helps. ~Glenn

    Name:  tn_fsscr007 (2).jpg
Views: 262
Size:  179.6 KB
    CoolerMaster CenturionTower, AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black-Edition 3.4Ghz, EVGA GeForce GTX 650 1GB, Western-Digital Black-Edition Caviar 1TB SATA3 HDD, 8GB Corsair Xtreme DDR3, ASUS MA489GTD-Pro MB, CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Cooling fan, Dell 24" UltraSharp 1920x1200 Monitor, CHProducts Flight-yoke/rudder-pedals, TrackIR4

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Posts
    7,662

    Default

    This might be easier. I use the v to do the screenshot and at the end of the flight I transfer the shot out of FSX and save it to My Documents. It's still in the BMP format. I bring up the paint program and paste the BMP screenshot to it and then save as a JPEG image.

    Next alternative is printscreen to capture the image-bring up paint-press control v to paste on the image- then "save as" JPEG image.


    Mr Zippy Sent from my keyboard using "Whackamole", NudgeAKey + 2 Fingers

    Emachines T3418 AMD 3400+ processor 2GHZ/256KB L2 Cashe 2Gig Ram 160Gig HDD NVidia GEForce 6100 GPU Running WinXP Home Can't believe it still works! Running FSX Standard with SP1 and SP2

    Take everything I say with a grain of salt and maybe some pepper! There's no such thing as too much garlic!

  5. #5

    Default

    I use Irfan View ( http://www.irfanview.com/ ) to batch convert them all at once and save myself a lot of clicking! Then delete the original BMPs and bob's your mother's brother!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 1999
    Location
    Warren, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    10,997

    Default

    A second for IrfanView for all your screenshot needs.

  7. #7

    Default

    I'm doing it a lot more complicated...I email the pictures to myself so that in my Mac I can open them in photoshop and then with "actions" it automatically resizes all the pictures and saves them for web in jpg. I will have to try those other alternatives to see if that workflow can be a little easier!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Victoria, Australia.
    Posts
    24

    Default

    Thanks for all the replies and information.
    I too use IrfanView to batch convert and it is a great program.
    As HARDCUB2BEAT points out if I ever take an absolute pearler of a screenshot, the higher quality of the BMP would be useful.

    Cheers

  9. Default

    Imagine a Program which lets you do a wide variety of ways to edit, alter, enhance and process batch conversion of your pictures in just a few clicks, Rea batch image converter is the easiest to use programs that can apply your desired option to all or selected pictures at once.
    Last edited by Ryan Ron; 10-22-2012 at 04:55 AM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    2,838
    Blog Entries
    5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mtrunz View Post
    I'm doing it a lot more complicated...I email the pictures to myself so that in my Mac I can open them in photoshop and then with "actions" it automatically resizes all the pictures and saves them for web in jpg. I will have to try those other alternatives to see if that workflow can be a little easier!
    I use actions too, but I use a "droplet". Check out "Automate > Create droplet". It makes a small excecutable that you can save in your screenshots folder, then all you have to do is select all your .bmps and drag/drop them on the droplet; it'll then open PS and run your action on the whole group. It's a bit faster too because it doesn't waste any time or CPU cycles drawing the pixels on screen while it works.

    BTW why do you email them to yourself? Can't you run PS on Windows?

    Jim

Similar Threads

  1. BMP to DDS
    By matsu in forum FSX
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 02-08-2010, 12:04 PM
  2. DDS to BMP
    By Doods in forum FSX
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-29-2008, 09:47 AM
  3. BMP to DDS
    By STUART_H in forum Scenery Design
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-09-2008, 06:07 AM
  4. How to convert bmp to 16-bit for Splash Screen Randomiser
    By philliptan in forum DreamFleet General Discussion Forum
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-25-2002, 12:31 PM
  5. .AF to .BMP
    By richiec1487 in forum Aircraft Design Archive
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-06-2001, 07:23 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •