Thread: VOR navigation help

1. Default VOR navigation help

Hi guys, let me first say I'm new to flight sim but I'm looking to learn. I'm having a bit
    Of trouble using the VOR. Im able to find the frequency of vor stations and fly to them but how
    Do I fly to airports. Here's the scenario, I'm starting off at hawarden airfield and want to travel
    To Liverpool airport, the nearest VOR station is north west of liverpool in Wallasey. Granted if I fly
    Towards Wallasey I can see the airport clearly, but that's not the point I want to be able to get there
    Without a map or in bad weather.

Thanks in advance

You use a map/chart to determine the bearing from the VOR to the airport (or runway approach) you desire. Or ... you can use two VOR bearings to intersect where you want to be, the airport (or runway approach).

This link may explain it a bit better for you.
    Last edited by Paxx; 08-08-2012 at 01:00 PM.

Unless the target airport has a navaid on site, you'll have to use ded-reckoning.
    A VOR/DME(DME=with distance measuring equipment) within range of the target is easiest.
    The airport will lie on, or quite near, a Radial. You'll need a chart to pick an exact radial, but, you can get pretty close just by eyeballing it and the airport in the FSX map.
    Distance is a different story. You can scale the distance from the VOR to the airport on a chart.
    Guessing from the map usually doesn't get me close enough.

Tune the Nav1 radio, adjust the OBS to the Radial or it's reciprocal(To/From) and fly the OBS.
    The distance remaining, to the airport, will be the distance from the VOR to the Airport minus the DME reading.

Using an NDB, directly, requires intercepting and flying a bearing from the NDB to the airport, calculating distance by time vs speed.
    Much more complicated, because you have to factor in wind and Ground speed corrections to be accurate.