Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 33

Thread: Article: Op-Ed: Buyer Beware

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 1996
    Location
    FlightSim.Com World HQ
    Posts
    3,035
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Article: Op-Ed: Buyer Beware


  2. #2

    Default

    It simply amazes me that these worms keep crawling out from under their rock to bilk unsuspecting customers. I only hope that someday they won't be able to find anyone who hasn't heard of their scam and they'll just go away.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Scottsdale, AZ
    Posts
    3

    Default

    I've been doing my best to warn the unsuspecting as well. I posted a similar warning (twice) on my blog site:

    http://lumenosity.blogspot.com/2012/...light-sim.html

    Hopefully we can save a few from wasting their money.

  4. #4

    Default

    Thank You Nels for pointing this out in such a prominent spot. I almost fell for the scam the first time I saw the "new simulator" announcement somewhere. Luckily I had friends who knew what was being offered was at best a rip-off of an open source development.
    Too bad that nothing can be done to stop these punks permanently. In the mean time efforts such as this to inform the unsuspecting enthusiast are commendable.

    Stefan

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 1996
    Location
    FlightSim.Com World HQ
    Posts
    3,035
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default

    Just a follow up. If you see ads for stuff like this, do something about it! I found a series of ads for Virtual Pilot 3D when I visited Facebook yesterday. It took some searching but I found the link to complain about ads and based on my complaint all their ads were removed.

  6. #6

    Default

    Hi,
    Just as you said that, I got a pm on 2012-02-19 00:30 from akg12, it was sent to several users (5).

    Quote Originally Posted by akg12 View Post
    Hey,

    I'm just lettin people know about this awesome flight simulator I found.

    Check it out

    Enjoy!
    (I changed the link to the website where it would take you [it was clickbankDOTcom or so])

    Also, I don't know if it's a buyable copy of flightgear or an other flightsim.
    BTW Thanks for keeping heads up!

  7. #7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nels_Anderson View Post
    Just a follow up. If you see ads for stuff like this, do something about it! I found a series of ads for Virtual Pilot 3D when I visited Facebook yesterday. It took some searching but I found the link to complain about ads and based on my complaint all their ads were removed.

    Thanks Nels... I'll put my two cents worth in wherever I can and will talk to Derek about giving this a mention.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 1996
    Location
    FlightSim.Com World HQ
    Posts
    3,035
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default

    If you get a PM like that, please let me know right away via an email to webmaster@flightsim.com so I can stop that account from spamming other people.

  9. #9

    Default

    I don't know whether you saw, Nels, but they were using the flightsim.com URL to advertise it on Facebook a few days ago.

    I reported it as being a scam and that the URL was a completely unrelated and valid site, but because the actual content advertised isn't my IP (they don't seem to care about the URL!) then they ignored me. The ads are back today, by the way, so Facebook haven't removed them.

    Edit: They might have removed the "flightsim.com" URL, because there's actually no URL shown at all on the one I have.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 1996
    Location
    FlightSim.Com World HQ
    Posts
    3,035
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default

    Yes, I see they are back on Facebook with all new ads. Looks like they've also opened yet another web site at a new domain, but with identical content to the last one. I'll send in another complaint to Facebook...

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 12
    Last Post: 05-25-2004, 09:13 PM
  2. Buyer Beware!
    By iowapilot in forum FS2004
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-16-2004, 09:30 AM
  3. Buyer Beware - Abacus Sky Ranch
    By progrmr in forum FS2002
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 03-29-2003, 08:41 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •