Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Re-installing FSX under Win7-64bit

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 1997
    Location
    Macleay Island, Brisbane, AU
    Posts
    125

    Default Re-installing FSX under Win7-64bit

    I am having problems trying to re-install FSX onto my computer. I can get the main program to install and run, but when I try to apply SP1 (needed for FSCopilot/FSInn), I get the following Error Message.
    Error 1402.Could not open key:

    UNKNOWN\Components\FE773E3B3328BC4E9DA05D19AD161F1\694A72599FD5A214DA7C61B85A73C96A.
    Verify that you have sufficient access to that key, or contact your support personnel.

    I have tried ALL the fixes that I can find on just about every FS oriented forum, and at MS to no avail.
    I have been using FSX for years, and have never had this problem before. I notice that the installer does not ask for the product key at any time during the install process, which seems kind of odd. Maybe this is a clue to the problem.

    TIA

    Bob (CRO)

  2. #2

    Default

    I just spent the past week installing W7-64 and all my FSX stuff.
    What directory did you install to?
    Is UAC on?
    Dave Opper
    Support Specialist
    HiFi Technologies, Inc.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 1997
    Location
    Macleay Island, Brisbane, AU
    Posts
    125

    Default

    I have been running Win7 with UAC turned off being somewhat of a power user. (At least I thought I was until this problem occurred).
    My previous FSX install worked fine on drive E:\Program Files x86\Microsoft Games\Flight Simulator X.
    i.e. same as default install just changed the drive letter from C:\ so still using that. All add-ons have also been deleted.
    I am trying not to do a complete OS install due to the size of some of the programs that work fine such as Trainz.

    Bob (CRO)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    20k S. of LFRC
    Posts
    44

    Default

    Hi. I run FSX complete on a different drive than my main C (E actually), Win7 64bit.
    When you choose an alternative root folder for FSX on another drive, you can name it what you like (mine is simply in my E\Program Files = E\Program Files\FSX. Have you just just tried to re-install FSX onto your C drive, without realising that when you install FSX onto a different drive, E for example, the installation also puts data files onto your C drive? Also, and it's so easy to do as I have done it myself, when subsequently installing an add-on it goes into it's default patch of C. It works OK but now you now have FSX running from E with an add-on on C. Problems come when you un-install FSX and it's how you un-install that's crucial as there are lots of FSX files on C even when you carried out the installation to another drive. Maybe you still have obsolete files/folders/registry entries which is causing glitches with your new install.

  5. #5

    Default

    sir, i installed fsx with both service packs on both win7 versions - x86 and x64. no problem at all. the directory is just fsx.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Vancouver Island B.C.
    Posts
    1,397

    Default

    I5-2500k@ 4.5Ghz/ 16 GB Gskill DDR3 1600/Nvidia GTX460 1GB// CH Yoke/Pedals/Throttle/TrackIR/Win7/ Fsx Deluxe SP1 & SP2

    "Don't let fear or good judgment hold you back"

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 1997
    Location
    Macleay Island, Brisbane, AU
    Posts
    125

    Default

    Thanks to all respondents....
    I have now had success - I hope. Haven't had time to fully test the installation as yet, but looking good.
    Montys - I am aware of the additional files etc. placed on C;\, regardless of where you install the main program. I have never had trouble with addons because I just needed to change C:\ to E:\ when installing. That is why I kept the install directory identical to the default.
    For the umpteenth time this week, I did an auto uninstall through the Control Panel, which, as usual failed. I then ran the MS Uninstaller Fix to delete the FSX uninstall files. Next up, I manually deleted everything related to FSX, rand Wise Disk cleaner and Registry Cleaner.
    Next step was to manually delete all remaining FSX references in the Registry by hand - yes, there were still some rogue entries there.
    Finally, I defraged E;\ again.
    I ran FSX setup.exe from the Run cmd, and again I was not asked for the product key. Install was fine. To be different, I then installed FSX Acceleration, (I didn't really want all the acceleration stuff, i don't race around pylons or stuff) because it incorporates SP1 & 2.
    Successfully installed, and I was asked for the FSX-X product key.
    After adding FSUIPC4, I succesfully installed FSCopilot and FSInn. Now to test it all. (Then reinstall Plan-G, FSC....you get the idea).

    Tks again

    Bob (CRO)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 13
    Last Post: 07-18-2013, 07:51 AM
  2. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 09-05-2011, 02:46 AM
  3. FSX.CFG Problem with Win7 64bit
    By MRV in forum FSX
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-23-2010, 04:44 PM
  4. UIAutomationCore.dll Win7 64bit
    By jimrandazzo in forum FSX
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-04-2010, 12:05 AM
  5. re installing FSX to W7 and 64bit
    By ecorry in forum FSX
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-21-2009, 08:09 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •