Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: FSX compatibility issues with windows 7

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Kansas city KS
    Posts
    69

    Default FSX compatibility issues with windows 7

    I was looking at windows 7 website and it said that FSX deluxe was not compatible with windows 7 64 bit. I found this strange because every other FSX product was compatible including FSX Gold which is a combination of deluxe and acceleration. It would nice if anyone who has FSX deluxe on windows 7 64 bit could tell me if it works. Please don't give an answer if you don't Have FSX deluxe.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 1999
    Location
    Warren, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,001

    Default

    It's fine with Win 7 64.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Kansas city KS
    Posts
    69

    Default

    Thank you your talking about FSX deluxe right.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 1999
    Location
    Warren, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,001

    Default

    Correct.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Fort Myers, Florida
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Hello,
    I just got a custom built computer which is equipped with Windows 7. The contents of the old computer's hard drive were copied to my new Windows 7 computer, including FSX files. I was able to install FSX in the new Windows 7 machine. It went into a directory called Program Files (s86). My Windows 7 machine does run (and beautifully) FSX, I'll bet you can too.

  6. #6

    Default

    I have been using FSX with Windows 7 for some time, it works well, but it is not flawless, I get regular application crashes, but it is still playable as long as you are not taking long distance flights (West coast to Hawaii is the longest flight I have been able to complete). Also rapid transitions between views also nets a crash, this computer ran it great with XP so the problem is not simply a hardware issue, it is either Win 7 conflicting with FSX somewhere in the mix or Win7 conflicting with the hardware.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec
    Posts
    2,079

    Default

    I have been running FSX with Win 7 64 for a long time without problem. I did get some issues over time, but nothing related to Win7.
    -----------------------------------------
    Simon

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Kansas city KS
    Posts
    69

    Default

    Thank you looks like it will work with my new laptop that I'm am getting. My new laptop specs, 3rd gen I7-3610QM 2.3ghz 8gb ram Nvidia geforce gt 630m 1gigabyte graphics card. 1terabyte 5400rpm hard drive
    Last edited by CapitalBill; 06-22-2012 at 01:45 PM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Vancouver Island B.C.
    Posts
    1,397

    Default

    jonbec
    Have you tried lowering your graphics settings. Autogen, clouds and car and air trafic can have a heavy impact on performance.
    Bruce
    I5-2500k@ 4.5Ghz/ 16 GB Gskill DDR3 1600/Nvidia GTX460 1GB// CH Yoke/Pedals/Throttle/TrackIR/Win7/ Fsx Deluxe SP1 & SP2

    "Don't let fear or good judgment hold you back"

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Kansas city KS
    Posts
    69

    Default

    Back to the main point of the thread. So does that mean Fsx deluxe not being compatible on windows website is an error.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-03-2011, 10:20 AM
  2. Replies: 12
    Last Post: 05-07-2011, 08:48 AM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-24-2011, 06:00 PM
  4. windows 7 compatibility
    By qwax in forum FSX
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-26-2010, 05:15 PM
  5. Windows 7 Compatibility
    By mdavenport in forum FSX
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 09-04-2009, 06:09 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •