I did not know where to post this question, so if it's in wrong forum please move. The question is has anyone heard of or using the virtual pilot 3d? Is this a new flightsim please enlighten.
I did not know where to post this question, so if it's in wrong forum please move. The question is has anyone heard of or using the virtual pilot 3d? Is this a new flightsim please enlighten.
It is a flightsim and it is the pay version of a free program of this:
http://www.flightgear.org/
So they are charging something you can get for free.
Thanks very much for your reply!
You'll find more about the "Virtual Pilot 3D" scam on these pages:
http://wiki.flightgear.org/VirtualPilot3D
http://www.flightsim.com/vbfs/conten...d-Buyer-Beware
FlightGear is free software.
Happy flying.
Last edited by Nels_Anderson; 07-17-2012 at 01:22 PM.
Is that not illegal???
These guys are advertising on Facebook. I have asked several times to remove their ads. The ads then change slightly. Yesterday the add indicated it was from Microsoft Flightsim.com but when you clicked on it, it went to the Virtual Pilot 3D site. Surely something can be done to stop this sort of blatant misrepresentation.
Unfortunately, no it is not illegal.
Or rather, the sale of Open Source software is not in and of itself illegal. Misrepresenting the product as one's own work, using screenshots from other sims to promote it, and false/misleading statements may well be illegal.
Whatever else it may be, it is without question highly unethical!
Bill Leaming
Gauge Programming - 3d Modeling Eaglesoft & Military Visualizations
Flightsim.com Panels & Gauges Forum Moderator
Flightsim Rig: Intel Core i7-2600K - 8GB DDR3 1333 - GeForce GTX550Ti 1GB - Win7 64bit Home Premium
Development Rig1: Intel Core i7-3770k - 16GB DDR3 - Dual Radeon HD7770 SLI 1GB - Win7 64bit Professional
Development Rig2: Intel Core i7-860 - 8GB DDR3 Corsair - GeForce GTS240 1GB - Win7 64bit Home Premium
NOTE: Unless explicitly stated in the post, everything written by my hand is MY opinion. I do NOT speak for any company, real or imagined...
The main drive behind open source software is to make sure the source is made available to everyone, not to provide free (as in price) programs. Read the link below from the authors of the GPL, the licence Flight Gear uses.Or rather, the sale of Open Source software is not in and of itself illegal.
http://www.gnu.org/philosophy/selling.html
Yeah it's Sad that people cash in like that! It's not illegal either so legally there not doing anything wrong, but morally they do! Plus whatever Version they have...it's not the up to date version. The FlightGear website has the most up to date version of the free open source flight simulator, which I must say, is coming along quite nicely![]()
Bookmarks