Thread: Having some ILS / RCBCO alignment problems; and a (possibly related) ILS problem.

Default Having some ILS / RCBCO alignment problems; and a (possibly related) ILS problem.

The meatball gauge on the carrier uses information in a matching .ini file. In it I have a rectangular box marking out the corners of the grid of arrestor cables. I drove this boundary many times with the Cessna 172 and am satisfied that the coordinates of it are correct. There is also a runway heading and a runway altitude. I have put all that into the .ini file and when I do a meatball landing it seems to be OK. I say "seems" because even into a 36 knot headwind (reasonable for a nuke carrier), landing on such a small target happens very fast and I am only a very ordinary pilot

The carrier also came with an AFCAD.bgl file that I have opened up with AFCAD (Yes, Jim, it should be ADE, but let's not go there now). I have set the altitude and runway heading to match the meatball info. I have also moved the ILS, glide slope and localiser to the centre back of the arrestor grid. That is, the three pairs of coordinates for ILS info in the AFCAD data entry screen match exactly the midpoint of the BackLeftCorner and the BackRightCorner in the .ini file. And I have put in the same value for the glideslope in both sets of places.

With all of this matching, on an approach I would have expected the indicators in ILS landing system to match the meatball exactly. But it doesn't. The glideslope seems to be OK, but the localiser does not. Now I wonder whether there is a magvar issue here? In the AFCAD editor I have the following, the arithmetic is certainly correct but I wonder about the value itself:

True=145.1
    magvar=12.3 (???)
    Magnetic=132.8

My carrier is at S31.3 E153.4 . Is a magvar of 12.3 correct for this location? If it is, then obviously it's not the source of the lack of alignment, so what might it be?