Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Distance gauge

  1. #1

    Default Distance gauge

    Hello.
    Iam looking for a gauge for FS9/FSX that can tell me the current distance flown, in nm, while in flight.

  2. Default

    How do you define 'distance flown'?
    -distance from your departure airport
    -progress along the flightplan
    -distance flown relative to the air (ie not corrected for wind)
    -distance flown relative to the ground (ie corrected for wind)

  3. #3

    Default

    Sorry about not being clear what Iam seeking.

    Distance flown meaning simply, speed (ground speed) X time (minutes, hours).

    For example, if Iam dead reckoning a 500nm flight, I take off, following a heading corrected for wind, then at say 258nm from take off, I have a waypoint made and I need to change course to avoid a mountain or something, Iam looking for a gauge that can tell me that I am at 258nm from take off. Without using a gps or map.

    Hope this clears up some questions. Thanks.

  4. Default

    Here is a quicky:
    Code:
    <Gauge Name="DistanceFlown">
      <Size X="100" Y="10"/>
      <Update Frequency="1"/>
    
      <Element>
        <Select>
    	  <Value>
    	    (A:GROUND VELOCITY, knots) (P:ABSOLUTE TIME, seconds) (L:PrevTime, seconds) - 3600 / * (>L:DistanceFlown, nm)
    	    (L:PrevTime, seconds) 0 == if{ 0 (>L:DistanceFlown, nm) }
    	    (P:ABSOLUTE TIME, seconds) (>L:PrevTime, seconds)
    	  </Value>
    	</Select>
      </Element> 
      
      <Element>
        <Position X="0" Y="0"/>
        <Text X="100" Y="10" Bright="No" Length="10" Font="Arial" Color="Red" Adjust="Left" VerticalAdjust="Top">
          <String>%((L:DistanceFlown, nm))%!5.1f!</String>
        </Text>
      </Element>
      
      <Mouse>
      
        <Area Left="0" Top="0" Right="100" Bottom="10">
          <Cursor Type="Hand" />
          <Click> 0 (>L:DistanceFlown, nm) </Click>
        </Area> 
    
      </Mouse>
      
    </Gauge>
    It will show the distance flown in nm and if you click on it the distance will be reset to 0.

    Save this as an .xml file in the fs\gauges folder and add it to your panel.

  5. #5

    Default

    Thanks a bunch jeroen79.

  6. Default

    Hi, jeroen79, I'm trying to find a gauge similar to the above but displaying metres traveled, for figuring out take-off and landing distances.
    I tried modifying the above gauge, but can't it to work (didn't work as originally entered above either). Could you take a look please? Bold items are modified items.
    <Gauge Name="DistanceFlown">
    <Size X="100" Y="10"/>
    <Update Frequency="1"/>

    <Element>
    <Select>
    <Value>
    (A:GPS GROUND SPEED, Meters per second) (P:LOCAL TIME, seconds) (L:PrevTime, seconds) - 3600 / * (>L:DistanceTravelled, Meters)
    (L:PrevTime, seconds) 0 == if{ 0 (>L:DistanceTravelled, Meters) }
    (P:LOCAL TIME, seconds) (>L:PrevTime, seconds)
    </Value>
    </Select>
    </Element>

    <Element>
    <Position X="0" Y="0"/>
    <Text X="100" Y="10" Bright="No" Length="10" Font="Arial" Color="Red" Adjust="Left" VerticalAdjust="Top">
    <String>%((L:DistanceTravelled, Meters))%!04d!</String>
    </Text>
    </Element>

    <Mouse>

    <Area Left="0" Top="0" Right="100" Bottom="10">
    <Cursor Type="Hand" />
    <Click> 0 (>L:DistanceTravelled, Meters) </Click>
    </Area>

    </Mouse>

    </Gauge>

    Thanks.

  7. #7

    Default

    The problem is in the units specified...
    ...these are the only valid unit declarations allowed:

    meter per second, meters/second, m/s

    As for the L:var units, typically one would choose either 'bool', 'boolean', 'number' or 'enum' (although truthfully anything may be used).
    Bill Leaming
    Gauge Programming - 3d Modeling Military Visualizations
    Flightsim.com Panels & Gauges Forum Moderator
    Flightsim Rig: Intel Core i7-2600K - 8GB DDR3 1333 - EVGA GTX770 4GB - Win7 64bit Home Premium
    Development Rig1: Intel Core i7-3770k - 16GB DDR3 - Dual Radeon HD7770 SLI 1GB - Win7 64bit Professional
    Development Rig2: Intel Core i7-860 - 8GB DDR3 Corsair - GeForce GTS240 1GB - Win7 64bit Home Premium
    NOTE: Unless explicitly stated in the post, everything written by my hand is MY opinion. I do NOT speak for any company, real or imagined...

Similar Threads

  1. HUD gauge bearing/distance help.
    By Elmo87 in forum Panel & Gauge Design
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-22-2012, 03:43 PM
  2. Airwolf Production Stills: Gauge Work: Radar Tracking Gauge
    By Ragtopjohnny in forum MSFS Screen Shot Forum
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 08-06-2009, 11:44 AM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-14-2007, 11:32 PM
  4. Converting the Gauge Project to Multi-Gauge Format
    By n4gix in forum Panel & Gauge Design
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-15-2005, 06:57 PM
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-01-2003, 03:29 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •