Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: F-16522fs Question

  1. #1

    Default F-16522fs Question

    Downloaded and installed in FSX. I am so glad to see a cockpit that has gauges instead of a Black VC panel.
    Question: Installed the effects in the effects folder of FSX. But do not see the afterburner effects. Tried the "L" key and of course the throttle on the yoke.

    This is a FSX download. Can someone direct me how to get the afterburner working properly? Would the FS2004 F-16 Viper update by Bob Chicilo
    work in FSX?
    Thank you in advance

  2. #2

    Default

    Is it the FlyAway product?
    If so, it says this-

    Unzip the effects folder and put the effects in the FSX effects folder located at "C:\Program Files\Microsoft Games\FSX\effects "
    Effects files are all the Afterburner effects in the Afterburner folder and the FX file in the Smoke effects folder.
    http://flyawaysimulation.com/downloa...522-fireballs/

  3. #3

    Default

    I downloaded the file from this site. I installed the effects as you stated. If you have this download, how do you get the afterburner to be viewed?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Imlay City, Michigan
    Posts
    8,404

    Default

    It's a Mark "Fireball" Rooks portover, without the Fire. No offense Mark! We all miss stuff.
    I could find no afterburner/Lights control gauge in the panel.cfg and the aircraft.cfg [Lights] shows the afterburner effects tied to the Beacon and Recognition Lights.
    I dug around in the supplied *.cabs and there are two afterburner/lights gauges there. The one in the Mig29.CAB looks like the simplest to incorporate.
    Note: the Beacon/Recognition lights may very well be controlled internal to the model. Try adding the correct effects to the Effects folder 1st(see*IMPORTANT* below).

    There is no afterburner control entry in the aircraft.cfg, but, that does not control the effect, only thrust and fuel consumption.

    Here are my proposed changes:
    Panel.cfg addition:
    [Vcockpit01]
    ...
    gauge01=Mig29!afterburner, 783,22,1,1
    ******************************
    Aircraft.cfg changes/additions:
    [TurbineEngineData]
    ...
    afterburner_throttle_threshold = 0.95
    ThrustSpecificFuelConsumption = 0.76 //From WIKI; PW F100-229 RW spec
    AfterBurnThrustSpecificFuelConsumption = 1.94 //PW F100-229 RW spec with afterburner engaged

    These are the entries that should be controlled by the gauge(Mig29.CAB/afterburner.xml) addition in the panel.cfg
    [LIGHTS]
    ...
    light.8= 7, -9.50,-16.970, 0.70, fx_contrail_s , // Left Wingtip contrail
    light.9= 7, -9.50, 16.970, 0.70, fx_contrail_s , // Right Wingtip contrail
    light.10=9, -19.90, 0.0, 0.5, fx_coral_f15ab-or , // A/B Orange
    light.11=9, -19.90, 0.0, 0.5, fx_coral_f15ab-blue , // A/B Blue

    *IMPORTANT* Note: neither the fx_coral_f15ab-or.fx OR fx_coral_f15ab-blue.fx effects were supplied with the download!
    They are included in FSX F-15J Package(f15j_x.zip) available in the library here.
    -------------------------------------------------------------

    None of the above have been tested yet(I'm In-Flight, yes, on AP!), but, when I have some time to test/tweak, I'll update here...Don
    Last edited by fxsttcb; 04-02-2012 at 09:59 AM. Reason: clarify
    HAF 932 Adv, PC P&C 950w, ASUS R4E, i7-3820 5.0GHz(MCR320-XP 6 fans wet), GTX 970 FTW
    16GB DDR3-2400, 128GB SAMSUNG 830(Win 7 Ult x64), 512GB SAMSUNG 840 Pro(FSX P3D FS9)
    WD 1TB Black(FS98, CFS2&3, ROF, etc.), WD 2TB Black-(Storage/Backup)

  5. #5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by flynby View Post
    ..If you have this download, how do you get the afterburner to be viewed?
    No I don't have it mate, so i don't know anything about it. If it was freeware I'd download it.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Imlay City, Michigan
    Posts
    8,404

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ScatterbrainKid View Post
    No I don't have it mate, so i don't know anything about it. If it was freeware I'd download it.
    'tis free in the library here 'kid.
    I checked it in the out-of-the-box form and it doesn't display the AB as is.
    I already have the proper effects and the AB still doesn't work, so I assumed they are not controlled in the model.

    I made my panel.cfg and aircraft.cfg changes per my previous post and now I have the AB displaying.
    Without further testing and investigation, I won't know how accurate the TSFC is, but, that can be simply adjusted to scale...Don

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	F16AB.jpg 
Views:	68 
Size:	77.2 KB 
ID:	123895
    Last edited by fxsttcb; 04-02-2012 at 11:34 AM. Reason: Add Pic
    HAF 932 Adv, PC P&C 950w, ASUS R4E, i7-3820 5.0GHz(MCR320-XP 6 fans wet), GTX 970 FTW
    16GB DDR3-2400, 128GB SAMSUNG 830(Win 7 Ult x64), 512GB SAMSUNG 840 Pro(FSX P3D FS9)
    WD 1TB Black(FS98, CFS2&3, ROF, etc.), WD 2TB Black-(Storage/Backup)

  7. #7

    Default

    Thank you both for the help. Will give it a try today.

  8. #8

    Default

    Don, it works just like the picture shows!! For anyone following this - the "L" key is not needed.
    The throttle does it all.

    Oh yes; one other question Don. In the aircraft.cfg; what do I need to change to slow the aircraft down a bit when taxiing?
    Many Thanks

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Imlay City, Michigan
    Posts
    8,404

    Default

    Oh yes; one other question Don. In the aircraft.cfg; what do I need to change to slow the aircraft down a bit when taxiing?
    Unless you reduce the thrust, there isn't anything that can be done in the aircraft.cfg. I see that a lot with portovers.

    If you know what you are doing, the Thrust vs N1 curve can be revised in the *.air file to reduce the idle N1 thrust.
    I use AAMv2 to edit those curves, but, that involves a lot of trial and error. Those numbers are sensitive. Use very small incremental changes at a time.
    Bear in mind, you do not want zero thrust at idle. Just low enough that the aircraft sits still at max weight.

    Many RW planes do require brakes to stand still when at low weight. The F-16?...Dunno...Don
    HAF 932 Adv, PC P&C 950w, ASUS R4E, i7-3820 5.0GHz(MCR320-XP 6 fans wet), GTX 970 FTW
    16GB DDR3-2400, 128GB SAMSUNG 830(Win 7 Ult x64), 512GB SAMSUNG 840 Pro(FSX P3D FS9)
    WD 1TB Black(FS98, CFS2&3, ROF, etc.), WD 2TB Black-(Storage/Backup)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-19-2009, 12:56 PM
  2. Quick Question About Placement of RAM (Not The Usual Question)
    By Daly in forum PC Hardware, Video And Audio Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-18-2005, 01:27 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-18-2004, 04:20 PM
  4. Question on Biplanes...probably the last question in 2 weeks.
    By salmendra in forum The Outer Marker
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 02-28-2003, 08:26 PM
  5. FS2002 question and a real world question
    By crashking in forum FS2002
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-11-2002, 11:13 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •