Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Just got FSX

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Near-ish EGBB (Birmingham)
    Posts
    90

    Default Just got FSX

    Hi guys,
    I just got my shiny new copy of FSX: Gold Edition today! At the moment I'm learning how to fly, and am already getting some addons installed!

    I look forward to seeing more of the community!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Pensacola, FL. U.S.A.
    Posts
    2,076

    Default Welcome..to a great hobby...and people!

    If you need help, no matter how dumb you think your question or problem may be, post it in this forum and there's a darn good chance you'll get an answer. Once more, welcome to our crowd.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Bristol, uk.
    Posts
    2,812

    Default

    yep - I hope you enjoy it as much as i have over the years.

    One tip - include your system specifications in your signature as if you get any problems, that always helps us to solve them for you.

    IAN
    Q9550 @ 3.78 GHz with Gainward GTX570 1.25 Gig DRAM
    4 Gig DDR2 RAM - Windows 7 64 Bit
    FSX SP2
    Resolution 1680 X 1050 X32

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Near-ish EGBB (Birmingham)
    Posts
    90

    Default

    Thanks for the tips, I've just been doing a small trip in a Douglas DC-3 through some UK airports. So far I've gone from Cardiff, to Bristol, and then Birmingham. I really need to get a joystick though, as it can be scary trying to land with a keyboard!

  5. Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ryanb98 View Post
    I really need to get a joystick though, as it can be scary trying to land with a keyboard!
    Instead of a joystick, you may want to consider getting a flight yoke instead. Definately adds to the realism.

    VATSIM: P2 | I1

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Near-ish EGBB (Birmingham)
    Posts
    90

    Default

    Unfourtanately, I can't afford I flight yoke (unless there's any cheaper ones around!), but maybe one day...

    Also, how do I add AI flight plans? I was thinking about making some for BA, Easyjet, just around the UK.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Bristol, uk.
    Posts
    2,812

    Default

    I use AIFPC (search for aifpc.zip).

    Basically, I open the default filght plan and edit it to add the aircraft i have installed and change the routes and times to suit my purposes (I usually replace the default aircraft rather than adding).

    Trafficaircraft.bgl is in the fsx/scnery/world/scenery folder.

    Then recompile the flight plan.

    Alwasy keep a backup of the original though in case you cock it up.

    So I have easyJet, Ryanair, Thomas Cook, Thomson aircraft etc flying from the UK airports I tend to use.

    The only thing is that I also have them all over the rest of the world.
    Q9550 @ 3.78 GHz with Gainward GTX570 1.25 Gig DRAM
    4 Gig DDR2 RAM - Windows 7 64 Bit
    FSX SP2
    Resolution 1680 X 1050 X32

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Near-ish EGBB (Birmingham)
    Posts
    90

    Default

    Thanks for the guides! I've just added some AI flight plans from WOAI.com, such as Aer Lingus, Easyjet UK, and British Airways!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Bristol, uk.
    Posts
    2,812

    Default

    There are a few repaints of charter aircraft you see regularly at UK airports as noted above.

    I also have a few BA, Airfrance and KLM from the libraries too which you will see at most UK regionals and an Aurigny CRJ700 operating from the channel Islands and a Monarch A321 I found (are they still going?).

    John Murchison and friends also have a few on their site:

    http://www.flightsim.co.nz/

    IAN
    Q9550 @ 3.78 GHz with Gainward GTX570 1.25 Gig DRAM
    4 Gig DDR2 RAM - Windows 7 64 Bit
    FSX SP2
    Resolution 1680 X 1050 X32

  10. #10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CXA001 View Post
    Instead of a joystick you may want to consider getting a flight yoke instead. Definately adds to the realism.
    What if the plane you're flying doesn't have a yoke in real-life? For example the Curtiss Jenny, Spitfire, Piper Cub etc have sticks don't they?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •