Thread: Textures Degraded After Edit - DXTBMP and Paint.NET

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Default Textures Degraded After Edit - DXTBMP and Paint.NET

I am a beginner at repainting FSX aircrafts, but have been learning to use Paint.NET 3.5.4. I notice that the textures of my repaints are somewhat blur at close up after my edits. Is this related to how I save the texture files or something else?

Below in the pic with the Come Play livery, the aircraft registration VH-OEB letters are blur compared to the pic of the original Qantas livery before my edit. What's strange is I did not edit this part of the fuselage ... so, what caused this change?

I use DXTBmp to open/save the texture files before/after editing using Paint.NET.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2010-6-22_16-48-2-953.jpg 
Views:	503 
Size:	163.9 KB 
ID:	69452   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2010-6-22_17-19-25-656.jpg 
Views:	473 
Size:	162.9 KB 
ID:	69453  

2. Default

The first thing to remember is that DXT textures are usually degraded by each conversion process. It is best practice to convert the original textures using DXTBMP from DXT to BMP. Then edit it in your paint program and save it in your paint programs native format. Every time you want to make a change reload the texture from your paint program, export it as a 24bit BMP file and then use DXTBMP to convert it into a DXT type BMP.

The second thing is what format are you saving as? DXT1, DXT5 or 888-8 32 bit. It is a good idea to know what format the original files were in. This is shown in the title bar when you load the file into DXTBMP. Make a note of it and save your textures in the same format.