Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Update Defualt NAV Data

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Federal Way, Washington, United States of America.
    Posts
    188

    Default Update Defualt NAV Data

    Is there a way to update the default nav data for FSX? As time goes by and I start using newer plates and charts I begin to notice more and more that especially GPS fixes are missing or in the wrong place.

  2. #2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lizardmon View Post
    Is there a way to update the default nav data for FSX? As time goes by and I start using newer plates and charts I begin to notice more and more that especially GPS fixes are missing or in the wrong place.

    Hi, updating the navaid database "in bulk" can't be done but, I've been able to add many new navaids used in SID/STARS with Airport Design Editor in approach mode. These will show up in the flightplanner and GPS. It would be great if others who design/release airport scenery consulted the SID/STARS charts and added them to their releases, as well.
    Regards, Kendall

  3. Default

    Actually it has been done in bulk. http://www.btinternet.com/~gb.mitch/index.html
    It says for FS9, but it works in FSX just fine. Enjoy!

    Nick

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Hawaii - PHHI
    Posts
    1,716

    Default

    Well, I agree that it works, but I'm not sure about the "just fine" part. What that will do is to install the 5-letter waypoint data that the author had. What it does not do is:

    Does not include the airway data (route elements) that show the low level (V) and high level (J) ATS routes between wayopints.

    Does not update navaid waypoints (primarily VORs).

    Does not correlate the added waypoint data with the approach and terminal_waypoint database.

    scott s.
    .

  5. #5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Irocx View Post

    snip-----

    It would be great if others who design/release airport scenery consulted the SID/STARS charts and added them to their releases, as well.
    Some of us have been doing that since the release of FS9. Some of my work with payware even takes the more current FSX nav database and places it back into FS9.

    As Scott points out all the bulk type Navaid bgl's (available) and there authors do not know that FS is built on the ARINC 424 document standard. These bulk addins cannot differentiate between a WAYPOINT and a TERMINAL_WAYPOINT and what part of the Nav Database owns what.

    jim

Similar Threads

  1. GPS data base update
    By Zachiii in forum DreamFleet General Discussion Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-22-2008, 04:11 PM
  2. Garmin 530 data update ?
    By LeXav in forum DreamFleet General Aviation Support Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-07-2005, 06:22 AM
  3. Update FMC Data
    By Parman in forum DreamFleet General Discussion Forum
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 06-26-2002, 09:43 PM
  4. How should I update the AIRAC cycle data for FMC...
    By Jackson in forum DreamFleet General Discussion Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-18-2002, 10:42 AM
  5. Defualt 747 Range!?!?!?!?
    By basher in forum FS2002
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-04-2002, 10:19 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •