Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Default 737 Cockpit - view set-up

  1. Default Default 737 Cockpit - view set-up

    Hi All,

    Finally received my new desktop and installed FSX with Accelerator last night. I'm returning to flight simming after several years away so tried to rely on my previous knowledge to get up and running quickly.....was not entirely successful :-)

    I fly the airliners and previously I was able to easily set up a customised cockpit for the default 737, to include the throttle/flap controls and radio stack in the view - not realistic in appearance or representative of actual placement in the real cockpit but it was a view that I found comfortable to fly with. I could not find a way to do this on FSX - when selecting "throttle controls" I could only pull up a full screen view of the controls and could not find the radio stack - does anybody have any ideas please? Tonight I would like to actually try a flight rather than spending the whole evening trying to set up the cockpit :-)

    thanks,

    Andy

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    York, North Yorkshire, U.K..
    Posts
    444

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ac_freeman View Post
    Hi All,

    Finally received my new desktop and installed FSX with Accelerator last night. I'm returning to flight simming after several years away so tried to rely on my previous knowledge to get up and running quickly.....was not entirely successful :-)

    I fly the airliners and previously I was able to easily set up a customised cockpit for the default 737, to include the throttle/flap controls and radio stack in the view - not realistic in appearance or representative of actual placement in the real cockpit but it was a view that I found comfortable to fly with. I could not find a way to do this on FSX - when selecting "throttle controls" I could only pull up a full screen view of the controls and could not find the radio stack - does anybody have any ideas please? Tonight I would like to actually try a flight rather than spending the whole evening trying to set up the cockpit :-)

    thanks,

    Andy
    Andy - you confuse me

    If you are using a single screen/monitor you should be able to pull up the throttle, radios, GPS etc by either using the icons or Shift + 2,3,4,etc.
    Once the item is visible you can then drag it to where it is most convenient.

    If you are using multi-monitors you can still avail yourself of the various bits you are looking for by doing the same as above and then right-clicking on that item and check the "Undock" option.
    From there you can then drag and drop the various bits in any place you want them.

    Ken.
    Old enough to know better...
    ...young enough to do most of it again
    Intel Q6600; 4Gb RAM; 9800GT-512Mb; XP-Home-SP3. FSX; REX; GEX; UTX; FSC; RC4; UT2

  3. Default

    Hi Ken,

    Yes, thanks for that - I found a very good flying guide on Gamespressure yesterday that explained this, works fine now......I suppose it is one of those things that seem obvious when you know how to do it :-)

    My next problem is trying to find out why my plane goes crazy when trying to intercept ILS/Glide Slope for Amsterdam Schiphol ( default scenery ) - I'm probably doing something wrong on the autopilot, as soon as I switch off APP and select HDG and Altitude hold it recovers but obviously then misses the ILS.......frustrating. Am I right in thinking that I should switch to NAV mode, follow the heading as intructed by ATC to intercept the ILS, then select APP and wait to "pulled" onto the approach course for the runway? I'm flying the default 737 by the way.

    thanks,

    Andy

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    York, North Yorkshire, U.K..
    Posts
    444

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ac_freeman View Post
    Hi Ken,

    Yes, thanks for that - I found a very good flying guide on Gamespressure yesterday that explained this, works fine now......I suppose it is one of those things that seem obvious when you know how to do it :-)

    My next problem is trying to find out why my plane goes crazy when trying to intercept ILS/Glide Slope for Amsterdam Schiphol ( default scenery ) - I'm probably doing something wrong on the autopilot, as soon as I switch off APP and select HDG and Altitude hold it recovers but obviously then misses the ILS.......frustrating. Am I right in thinking that I should switch to NAV mode, follow the heading as intructed by ATC to intercept the ILS, then select APP and wait to "pulled" onto the approach course for the runway? I'm flying the default 737 by the way.

    thanks,

    Andy
    The learning centre is a huge source of information.........but.........in basic terms..........

    You need to be organising your landing WELL before you arrive there
    Your Nav1 radio must be set to the ILS frequency for the runway in use AND the course MUST be set at whatever the actual runway alignment is.
    You can obtain that information from the GPS and/or map - best to source the information before embarking on your flight - be prepared

    Charts will also give you information on any terrain obstacles ahead of you and the "procedure" for your landing.

    In essence you need to intercept the Localiser and the Glide Slope BELOW the beam angle. So if the Glide Slope intercept altitude is 3,800 ft I would ensure (surrounding terrain permitting!) I entered the GS "feathers" at, say, 3,600 - just to be certain.

    For sure, if you are TOO high when making your (ILS) approach you will overshoot and just carry merrily on your way

    By numbers:
    1: Make your approach and have Nav1 frequency and course settings in place.
    2: Descend to a "near" altitude for your approach.
    3: When about 20 miles out you can engage the "VOR/LOC" button - this will start to turn you onto the Localiser.
    4: When the Localiser needles are centred you can engage the "App" button which, after capturing the Glide Slope, will commence your final descent to the runway. You should by now have your speed under control for the aircraft in operation at the time.
    5: About 100 - 200 feet AGL disengage the AP and hand-fly to the surface ensuring a nose up attitude to land on the main wheels FIRST. After touch down you can let the nose wheel settle and engage reverse thrust.

    The ILS landing tutorial will take you through all of the above.

    Three greens and soft landings.

    Ken.
    Old enough to know better...
    ...young enough to do most of it again
    Intel Q6600; 4Gb RAM; 9800GT-512Mb; XP-Home-SP3. FSX; REX; GEX; UTX; FSC; RC4; UT2

  5. Default

    Thanks again Ken, really appreciate your help - have printed this thread to use as training aid when I try again this evening :-)

    Andy

  6. #6

    Smile

    Quote Originally Posted by ac_freeman View Post
    Thanks again Ken, really appreciate your help - have printed this thread to use as training aid when I try again this evening :-)

    Andy
    this is my "FSX" cfg file info in my :
    (c/documents and settings/HP user/application data/microsoft/fsx) folder

    rename yours as "fsxbackup" ( its you original file ! )than open it, erase everything, and copy past this lines:
    ( finish reading before you do anything !!!)



    [SOUND]
    AmbientUIMusicVolume=-6.000000
    PrimaryDevice={DEF00000-9C6D-47ED-AAF1-4DDA8F2B5C03}
    VoiceDevice={DEF00002-9C6D-47ED-AAF1-4DDA8F2B5C03}
    SOUND=1
    SOUND_QUALITY=2
    SOUND_LOD=0
    UISound=1
    AmbientUI=0
    SOUND_FADER1=0.370000
    SOUND_FADER2=0.480000
    SOUND_FADER3=0.620000
    SOUND_FADER4=0.770000
    AmbientUIMusic=FSX01
    [Display]
    ChangeTime=4.000000
    TransitionTime=4.000000
    ActiveWindowTitleTextColor=255,255,255
    ActiveWindowTitleBackGroundColor=0,28,140,64
    NonActiveWindowTitleTextColor=255,255,255
    NonActiveWindowTitleBackGroundColor=24,33,87,64
    InfoUpperRightTextColor=255,0,0
    InfoUpperRightBackGroundColor=0,0,0,0
    InfoLowerLeftTextColor=255,255,255
    InfoLowerLeftBackGroundColor=255,0,0,128
    InfoLowerRightTextColor=255,255,255
    InfoLowerRightBackGroundColor=255,0,0,128
    InfoBrakesEnable=True
    InfoParkingBrakesEnable=True
    InfoPauseEnable=True
    InfoSlewEnable=True
    InfoStallEnable=True
    InfoOverspeedEnable=True
    BLOOM_EFFECTS=0
    SKINNED_ANIMATIONS=0
    TEXTURE_BANDWIDTH_MULT=10
    UPPER_FRAMERATE_LIMIT=42
    WideViewAspect=False
    [Main]
    User Objects=Airplane, Helicopter
    SimObjectPaths.0=SimObjects\Airplanes
    SimObjectPaths.1=SimObjects\Rotorcraft
    SimObjectPaths.2=SimObjects\GroundVehicles
    SimObjectPaths.3=SimObjects\Boats
    SimObjectPaths.4=SimObjects\Animals
    SimObjectPaths.5=SimObjects\Misc
    ProcSpeed=4229
    PerfBucket=5
    HideMenuNormal=0
    HideMenuFullscreen=1
    Location=124,46,900,676,\\.\DISPLAY1
    Maximized=2
    [PANELS]
    IMAGE_QUALITY=1
    QUICKTIPS=1
    PANEL_OPACITY=100
    PANEL_MASKING=1
    PANEL_STRETCHING=1
    UNITS_OF_MEASURE=0
    DEFAULT_VIEW=0
    [Weather]
    WindshieldPrecipitationEffects=1
    MinGustTime=10
    MaxGustTime=500
    MinGustRampSpeed=1
    MaxGustRampSpeed=200
    MinVarTime=5
    MaxVarTime=50
    MinVarRampSpeed=10
    MaxVarRampSpeed=75
    TurbulenceScale=1.000000
    WeatherServerAddress=fs2k.zone.com
    WeatherServerPort=80
    WeatherGraphDataInDialog=0
    AdjustForMagVarInDialog=1
    DynamicWeather=2
    DownloadWindsAloft=1
    DisableTurbulence=0
    CLOUD_DRAW_DISTANCE=4
    DETAILED_CLOUDS=1
    CLOUD_COVERAGE_DENSITY=5
    THERMAL_VISUALS=1
    [DISPLAY.Device.NVIDIA GeForce 7300 GS.0]
    Mode=1024x768x32
    [AccelerationPack]
    ControlsFirstRun=0
    HomePageFirstRun=0
    [GRAPHICS]
    SHADER_CACHE_PRIMED=1693500672
    TEXTURE_MAX_LOAD=128
    NUM_LIGHTS=8
    AIRCRAFT_SHADOWS=1
    AIRCRAFT_REFLECTIONS=1
    COCKPIT_HIGH_LOD=1
    LANDING_LIGHTS=1
    AC_SELF_SHADOW=0
    EFFECTS_QUALITY=0
    GROUND_SHADOWS=0
    TEXTURE_QUALITY=3
    IMAGE_QUALITY=0
    See_Self=1
    Text_Scroll=1
    D3D10=0
    [CONTROLS]
    Controls_Default=Standard
    Controls_Current=Standard
    KBDAIL=64
    KBDELEV=64
    KBDRUD=64
    force_master_gain=10000
    force_stick_force_enabled=1
    force_stick_shaker_enabled=1
    force_gear_bump_enabled=1
    force_crash_enabled=1
    force_ground_bumps_enabled=1
    [TextInfo.1]
    Latitude=1,1
    Longitude=1,2
    Altitude=1,3
    Heading=1,4
    AirSpeed=1,5
    WindDirectionAndSpeed=1,6
    [TextInfo.2]
    FrameRate=1,1
    LockedFrameRate=1,2
    GForce=1,3
    FuelPercentage=1,4
    [TextInfo.3]
    Latitude=1,1
    Longitude=1,2
    Altitude=1,3
    Heading=1,4
    AirSpeed=1,5
    WindDirectionAndSpeed=1,6
    FrameRate=2,1
    LockedFrameRate=2,2
    GForce=2,3
    FuelPercentage=2,4
    [SlewTextInfo.1]
    Latitude=1,1
    Longitude=1,2
    Altitude=1,3
    Heading=1,4
    AirSpeed=1,5
    [SlewTextInfo.2]
    FrameRate=1,1
    LockedFrameRate=1,2
    [SlewTextInfo.3]
    Latitude=1,1
    Longitude=1,2
    Altitude=1,3
    Heading=1,4
    AirSpeed=1,5
    FrameRate=2,1
    LockedFrameRate=2,2
    [Trusted]

    [DynamicHeadMovement]
    LonAccelOnHeadLon=-0.020000
    LonAccelOnHeadPitch=-0.010000
    RollAccelOnHeadLat=0.010000
    YawAccelOnHeadLat=-0.100000
    RollAccelOnHeadRoll=0.100000
    MaxHeadAngle=5.000000
    MaxHeadOffset=0.300000
    HeadMoveTimeConstant=1.000000
    [VirtualCopilot]
    VirtualCopilotActive=1
    [USERINTERFACE]
    PageID=1
    SHOW_MISSION_CAPTIONS=1
    PAUSE_ON_LOST_FOCUS=0
    PROMPT_ON_EXIT=1
    SITUATION=C:\Documents and Settings\HP_Owner\My documents\ Flight Simulator X Files\default
    Map_Orientation=2
    ShowAllACPaintSchemes=1
    SelectAircraftManufacturer=Tous
    SelectAircraftPublisher=Tous
    SelectAircraftType=Tous
    OpenATCOnCreate=0
    DisplayFuelAsWeight=0
    [ATC]
    ShowATCText=1
    COMM_MSG_NONE_COLOR=FFFFFFFF
    COMM_MSG_ATC_USER_COLOR=FFB6FFB6
    COMM_MSG_USER_ATC_COLOR=FFFFD21B
    COMM_MSG_ATC_AI_COLOR=FF00FF00
    COMM_MSG_AI_ATC_COLOR=FFFF7840
    AutoOpenAirTrafficWindow=1
    UsePilotVoice=1
    PilotVoice=0
    [PointOfInterestSystem]
    CycleSetting=0
    [SCENERY]
    LENSFLARE=0
    DAWN_DUSK_SMOOTHING=1
    IMAGE_COMPLEXITY=5
    [TrafficManager]
    AirlineDensity=50
    GADensity=12
    FreewayDensity=9
    ShipsAndFerriesDensity=22
    LeisureBoatsDensity=19
    IFROnly=0
    AIRPORT_SCENERY_DENSITY=2
    [TERRAIN]
    LOD_RADIUS=2.500000
    MESH_COMPLEXITY=12
    MESH_RESOLUTION=18
    TEXTURE_RESOLUTION=23
    AUTOGEN_DENSITY=0
    DETAIL_TEXTURE=1
    WATER_EFFECTS=1
    [AContain]
    ShowLabels=1
    ShowUserLabel=0
    ShowLabelManufacturer=1
    ShowLabelModel=1
    ShowLabelTailNumber=0
    ShowLabelDistance=1
    ShowLabelAltitude=1
    ShowLabelAirline=0
    ShowLabelAirlineAndFlightNumber=0
    ShowLabelFlightPlan=0
    ShowLabelContainerId=0
    ShowLabelAirspeed=0
    ShowLabelHeading=0
    LabelDelay=1000
    LabelColor=FFFF0000
    [INTERNATIONAL]
    ASLAT=2
    ASLON=1
    MEASURE=0
    [REALISM]
    PFactor=0.980000
    Torque=0.990000
    GyroEffect=0.960000
    CrashTolerance=0.970000
    General=0.990000
    UnlimitedFuel=True
    AllowEngineDamage=False
    TrueAirspeed=True
    AutoCoord=False
    RealMixture=True
    StressDamage=False
    GEffect=False
    ManualLights=True
    GyroDrift=False
    CrashWithDyn=False
    CrashDetection=True
    AutoTrim=False
    [SIM]
    SYSCLOCK=0
    [STARTUP]
    DEMO=0
    SHOW_OPENING_SCREEN=1
    STARTUP_DEMO=
    LoadWindow=1
    [FACILITIES]
    COUNTRY=
    STATE=
    CITY=
    GTL_BUTTON=1273
    [Misc]
    Com_Rate=7
    [MAPVIEW_MAP]
    SHOW_AIRPORTS=1
    SHOW_VORS=1
    SHOW_NDBS=1
    SHOW_APPROACHES=1
    SHOW_INTERSECTIONS=0
    SHOW_VICTOR=1
    SHOW_JET=1
    SHOW_AIRSPACE=1
    SHOW_FLIGHTPLAN=1
    SHOW_WEATHERSTATIONS=1
    SHOW_WEATHERSYSTEMS=1
    SHOW_DATATAGS=1
    SHOW_TERRAIN=1
    show_flight_history=1
    [FlightPlanMap]
    LineWidth=2
    SHOW_AIRPORTS=1
    SHOW_VORS=1
    SHOW_NDBS=1
    SHOW_APPROACHES=1
    SHOW_INTERSECTIONS=0
    SHOW_VICTOR=0
    SHOW_JET=0
    SHOW_AIRSPACE=0
    SHOW_FLIGHTPLAN=1
    SHOW_WEATHERSTATIONS=1
    SHOW_WEATHERSYSTEMS=1
    SHOW_DATATAGS=1
    SHOW_TERRAIN=1
    show_waypoints=0
    show_airways=1
    show_markers=1
    show_volume_boundaries=0
    show_ac_twr=1
    [WeatherMap]
    SHOW_AIRPORTS=0
    SHOW_VORS=0
    SHOW_NDBS=0
    SHOW_APPROACHES=0
    SHOW_INTERSECTIONS=0
    SHOW_VICTOR=0
    SHOW_JET=0
    SHOW_AIRSPACE=0
    SHOW_FLIGHTPLAN=1
    SHOW_WEATHERSTATIONS=1
    SHOW_WEATHERSYSTEMS=1
    SHOW_DATATAGS=1
    SHOW_TERRAIN=1
    [MULTIPLAYER]
    AccoutUsername="sjmunoz"
    condAccoutPassword=0
    AccoutPassword="(null)"
    DefaultLobby="Vol libre"
    VoiceVolume=1.540000



    OK !!!!!!!!!!!


    search (Ctrl+F) for the line : "SITUATION" and write the path to your "Flight Simulator X files/default" cfg file ( normally in "my documents" folder )

    the path should be:
    C:\Documents and Settings\HP_Owner\My documents\ Flight Simulator X Files\default

    your default file is the one that your FSX loads when started, so you write that path
    and the name of your file EXACTLY how its named.


    save your file as "fsx" and you will see the cockpit view configuration that i use for
    my B737-800

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-22-2010, 11:52 PM
  2. Play sound in cockpit view but not in tower view?
    By WildBlue in forum Panel & Gauge Design
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-05-2009, 01:24 PM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-07-2008, 01:35 AM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-29-2002, 05:06 AM
  5. Falcon 50 - Virtual cockpit default view
    By degiorgio in forum FS2002
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-10-2002, 01:33 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •