Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: How to Install SDK for FSX Gold

  1. #1

    Post How to Install SDK for FSX Gold

    I'm a newbie to this forum.I hope this guide helps out other newbies.

    How to install the SDK with FSX Gold Edition.

    I strongly recommend making backup files and system restore points along the way.
    Read the whole document first, so that you know which folders are created or affected
    by this process, and to further help you to decide which files to backup.

    1. Install the Flight Simulator X Deluxe Edition.

    2. Run FSX so the program can build it's databases.

    3. Install the base SDK. (FSX RTM SDK)

    a. Use FSX Deluxe Edition Disk 1

    b. Open the SDK sub folder

    c. Run the setup.exe found in the SDK subfolder

    d. When prompted install to default location
    C:\Program Files\Microsoft Games


    4. At this point you will have FSX RTM = 10.0.6095 and the SDK RTM = retail

    a. There are now three main directories associated with the SDK

    i) C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Microsoft\FSX

    ii) C:\Documents and Settings\Username\Application Data\Microsoft\FSX
    ***where Username is the main user of the computer

    iii)C:\Documents and Settings\Username\My Documents\Flight Simulator X Files
    ***where Username is the main user of the computer

    5. Run FSX. Not sure if this step is really necessary

    6. Upgrade to the acceleration pack.

    a. This will make the FSX RTM version become 10.0.61637.0 FSX Xpack

    7. Install the SDK SP1a

    a. Use FSX Acceleration Disk

    a. Find the fsx_sdk_sp1a.exe in the sub folder \SDK\SP1a

    b. Run the .exe. You will be notified that previous versions of the SDK
    will be removed.

    8. Run FSX. Not sure if this step is really necessary


    9. Install SDK SP2

    a. Use FSX Acceleration Disk

    b. Open the SDK sub folder

    c. Run the sdk.msi. Again you will be notified that previous versions will be removed.

    d. Finally, you get a fancy Microsoft Splash Panel to complete the install.


    10. 5. Run FSX. Not sure if this step is really necessary.


    11. The tools (3 of them) are a set of dll's located in the folders

    a. C:\Program Files\Microsoft Games\Microsoft Flight Simulator X SDK\SDK\Mission Creation Kit\object_placement.dll

    b. C:\Program Files\Microsoft Games\Microsoft Flight Simulator X SDK\SDK\Environment Kit\Traffic Toolbox

    SDK\traffictoolbox.dll

    c. C:\Program Files\Microsoft Games\Microsoft Flight Simulator X SDK\SDK\Environment Kit\Special Effects

    SDK\visualfxtool.dll


    12. Now we have to initialize those dll's. We will use the file dll.xml to do this. The file is located in

    C:\Documents and Settings\<user name>\Application Data\Microsoft\FSX

    but first we have to make a few changes to the dll.xml file itself.

    13. To edit the dll.xml use Notepad (Do not use Word or Wordpad) select the file with a right click and click edit.

    You should see the following lines;


    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="Windows-1252"?>

    <SimBase.Document Type="Launch" version="1,0">
    <Descr>Launch</Descr>
    <Filename>dll.xml</Filename>
    <Disabled>False</Disabled>
    <Launch.ManualLoad>False</Launch.ManualLoad>
    <Launch.Addon>
    <Name>Object Placement Tool</Name>
    <Disabled>True</Disabled>
    <ManualLoad>False</ManualLoad>
    <Path>..\Microsoft Flight Simulator X SDK\SDK\Mission Creation Kit\object_placement.dll</Path>
    </Launch.Addon>
    <Launch.Addon>
    <Name>Traffic Toolbox</Name>
    <Disabled>True</Disabled>
    <ManualLoad>False</ManualLoad>
    <Path>..\Microsoft Flight Simulator X SDK\SDK\Environment Kit\Traffic Toolbox SDK\traffictoolbox.dll</Path>
    </Launch.Addon>
    <Launch.Addon>
    <Name>Visual Effects Tool</Name>
    <Disabled>True</Disabled>
    <ManualLoad>False</ManualLoad>
    <Path>..\Microsoft Flight Simulator X SDK\SDK\Environment Kit\Special Effects SDK\visualfxtool.dll</Path>
    </Launch.Addon>
    </SimBase.Document>



    a. Now change all the "True" to read "False"

    b. I also changed the paths to the dll's using an absolute (ie: c:\Program files..) rather than using relative
    addressing to the correct path (ie: ..\Program Files....). I don't think that was absolutely necessary.

    c. It should now look like this;


    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="Windows-1252"?>

    <SimBase.Document Type="Launch" version="1,0">
    <Descr>Launch</Descr>
    <Filename>dll.xml</Filename>
    <Disabled>False</Disabled>
    <Launch.ManualLoad>False</Launch.ManualLoad>
    <Launch.Addon>
    <Name>Object Placement Tool</Name>
    <Disabled>False</Disabled>
    <ManualLoad>False</ManualLoad>
    <Path>C:\Program Files\Microsoft Games\Microsoft Flight Simulator X SDK\SDK\Mission Creation

    Kit\object_placement.dll</Path>
    </Launch.Addon>
    <Launch.Addon>
    <Name>Traffic Toolbox</Name>
    <Disabled>False</Disabled>
    <ManualLoad>False</ManualLoad>
    <Path>C:\Program Files\Microsoft Games\Microsoft Flight Simulator X SDK\SDK\Environment Kit\Traffic Toolbox

    SDK\traffictoolbox.dll</Path>
    </Launch.Addon>
    <Launch.Addon>
    <Name>Visual Effects Tool</Name>
    <Disabled>False</Disabled>
    <ManualLoad>False</ManualLoad>
    <Path>C:\Program Files\Microsoft Games\Microsoft Flight Simulator X SDK\SDK\Environment Kit\Special Effects

    SDK\visualfxtool.dll</Path>
    </Launch.Addon>
    </SimBase.Document>



    14. After this point I ran FSX expecting to have an SDK available. It may have been there, but I was expecting to see
    "Tools" in the start menu for Microsoft Games. It doesn't show up there, it shows up inside the game when for
    example your are in a free flight. So it may have been there but I sort of doubt it, I was pretty sure Simconnect
    had to run before it was complete.


    15. Now get Simconnect to do it's thang.

    a) Copy the SimConnect.xml file from
    C:\Program Files\Microsoft Games\Microsoft Flight Simulator X SDK\SDK\Core Utilities Kit\SimConnect

    SDK\config

    into

    C:\Documents and Settings\<username>\Application Data\Microsoft\FSX


    b) Copy the SimConnect.ini file from
    C:\Program Files\Microsoft Games\Microsoft Flight Simulator X SDK\SDK\Core Utilities Kit\SimConnect

    SDK\config

    into

    My Documents\Flight Simulator X Files\


    16. Run FSX. Now you should see the Simconnect panel. If it was successfull you should see something like the following;

    0.00000 SimConnect version 10.0.61259.0

    0.05320 Server: Scope=local, Protocol=Pipe, Name=\\.\pipe\Microsoft Flight Simul
    ator\SimConnect, MaxClients=64
    0.07930 Server: Scope=local, Protocol=IPv4, Address=127.0.0.1, Port=1748, MaxCli
    ents=64

    0.57213 DLL Loaded: Path="C:\Program Files\Microsoft Games\Microsoft Flight Sim
    ulator X SDK\SDK\Mission Creation Kit\object_placement.dll" Version="10.0.61637
    .0"
    0.58387 DLL Loaded: Path="C:\Program Files\Microsoft Games\Microsoft Flight Sim
    ulator X SDK\SDK\Environment Kit\Traffic Toolbox SDK\traffictoolbox.dll" Versio
    n="10.0.61637.0"
    0.59475 DLL Loaded: Path="C:\Program Files\Microsoft Games\Microsoft Flight Sim
    ulator X SDK\SDK\Environment Kit\Special Effects SDK\visualfxtool.dll" Version=
    "10.0.61637.0"


    a. This (DOS) panel will stay open and not close. Don't worry about it. Now go into free flight mode and
    hit the Alt key and shebang there is the Tools menu on the left of the menu bar.


    17. Now go back and remove the
    SimConnect.ini
    from
    My Documents\Flight Simulator X Files\

    so that Simconnect won't initialize everytime you run FSX.
    (you should still have the original as long as you did a Copy operation and not a Move operation
    in step 15.


    18. Whew, done! Have fun and remember, share the best ones!



    References:

    Choosing Your FSX SDK Version http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/esp/cc743171.aspx

    SDK Installation (FSX) http://www.fsdeveloper.com/wiki/inde...tallation_(FSX)

    My Thanks to the authors of those articles and a special thanks to Guest at http://flyawaysimulation.com/postt23009.html
    for tying the last pieces together. Without the Simconnect information this would not have worked.
    Thanks everyone.

  2. #2

    Default

    NM - glad you found the wiki. You're correct, it has been invaluable to many people!
    Last edited by Irocx; 08-15-2009 at 10:19 PM.
    Regards, Kendall

  3. #3

    Red face Uh right left?

    a. This (DOS) panel will stay open and not close. Don't worry about it. Now go into free flight mode and
    hit the Alt key and shebang there is the Tools menu on the left of the menu bar.

    Correction: The tools menu is on the right side of the menu bar. Duh!

  4. #4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Irocx View Post
    NM - glad you found the wiki. You're correct, it has been invaluable to many people!
    Yes, the wiki was a great help but without Guest's contribution I would have never got simconnect to work. All in all it was a very confusing operation especially where you apply SP1a to FSX SP2.

  5. Default

    What is an SDK?
    System Specs:
    Intel Core i7 @ 2.67Ghz/24Gb DDR3 RAM
    Windows 7 Ultimate (64 Bit)
    ATI Radeon HD 4800 Series 1024gHz

  6. #6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Billy_UAL View Post
    What is an SDK?
    It's a Software Developers Kit. You can use it to create missions, scenery and other elements of the game. I installed it primarily so I could create my own missions but hopefully will figure out how to make some rudimentary objects like grass strips and stuff to add to the missions.

  7. Default

    done all your steps but the tool option isn't showing in the menu
    Overclocked Intel® Core™i7-4770k Quad Core (3.50GHz @ max
    ASUS® Z87-A: ATX, USB3.0, SATA6GB/S, SLi, XFIRE
    16GB KINGSTON HYPERX BEAST DUAL-DDR3 2400MHz X.M.P (2 x 8GB KIT)
    3GB NVIDIA GEFORCE GTX 780 - 2 DVI, HDMI, DP - 3D Vision Ready

  8. Default

    The last time he was here was some four years ago. I don't think he's going to answer.
    The current FSDeveloper information is here...http://www.fsdeveloper.com/wiki/inde...tion_%28FSX%29
    Pay attention to the part about matching the SDK version to the FSX version you have installed.

  9. Default

    Well my problem is i'm trying to revert back to my traffic x 2012 schedule.

    Not sure if i actually need the tools menu
    Overclocked Intel® Core™i7-4770k Quad Core (3.50GHz @ max
    ASUS® Z87-A: ATX, USB3.0, SATA6GB/S, SLi, XFIRE
    16GB KINGSTON HYPERX BEAST DUAL-DDR3 2400MHz X.M.P (2 x 8GB KIT)
    3GB NVIDIA GEFORCE GTX 780 - 2 DVI, HDMI, DP - 3D Vision Ready

  10. Default

    I'm afraid I can't help you with that. I use the SDK to make planes. I have not messed with traffic yet.

Similar Threads

  1. Cannot install FSX Gold
    By minstermineman in forum FSX
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 02-21-2010, 10:40 PM
  2. FSX Gold Install question
    By Hooper in forum FSX
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-21-2010, 05:23 PM
  3. ANA Gold
    By northstar in forum MSFS Screen Shot Forum
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-05-2008, 01:03 PM
  4. Red & Gold 172
    By WILEYD in forum FSX
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-05-2007, 02:23 AM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-24-2007, 09:19 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •