Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Can't align plane with runway

galaxyboy84 Guest

Default Can't align plane with runway

Hi, I've tried flying FS2002 planes few weeks back and it has been smooth so far, except i never landed in a proper once.

So far, I've managed to cruise, takeoff smoothly. However, when I'm about near the airport, I'll ask for visual approach. I got the runway. Can anyone give me tips on how to land properly? I'm always too high above the runway. Is there a checklist like what speed, what attitude or so? Also, how can I align my plane with the runway? I can see the runway.. but I can't align with it. It's always a little off track.

Thanks

bfq1880 Guest

Default RE: Can't align plane with runway

Well sometimes i also have problems with visual landing but the best thing to do is "practice". I'm not an expert here but that's what i do. When i first fly with FS98 i don't know anything about ILS. So i ended up doing visual approach all the time. You should get some information on checklist and stuff on the manual.

You can also try using ILS as a guide. Tune your radios to intercept ILS but don't let it land automatically. Use the Localizer and Glide Slope just as guide.

Finally press "Shift + enter" if you need a better view during visual landing. Play around with your simulator and you'll be an expert very soon. Good Luck!

Azuan

Everybody has their own way of learning, so this is only a suggestion. I would actually suggest doing a few ils landings using the autopilot with no wind, cloud etc. Then all you have to control is the throttle, flaps and gear. Apart from the landing, watch the computer fly the plane in. This'll give you an idea of how to turn on to the runway (I'm presuming you know the bearing of the runway). Do this a couple of times, and then try it yourself without the autopilot.