Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: How do you turn on DirectX 10

  1. Default How do you turn on DirectX 10

    I have no idea how to get this to turn on, i have seen some breathtaking graphics with it.

    Mike

  2. #2

    Default

    If you have Service Pack 1 and 2 installed, you can see it in the settings menu I believe. Just turn on DirectX 10 preview by checking the box - you'll have to restart the sim. If you don't like it, simply uncheck it and return to normal after restarting the simulator.


    HP Z820 Workstation Intel Xeon 3.30ghz 8 Core Processor 2TB Hard Drive 16 gig of Ram 1125 Power Supply and 2 Gig Nvidia Quadro 4000

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 1999
    Location
    Warren, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    10,970

    Default

    Hi,

    1. Have Vista.
    2. Have a DX 10 compatible video card.
    3. Have SP2 for FSX installed.
    4. If those are all met, there will be a DX10 Preview option on the Graphics screen in FSX for you to check. Then you exit FSX and restart FSX.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Seattle, USA.
    Posts
    1,384

    Exclamation

    Quote Originally Posted by dusterpylet View Post
    I have no idea how to get this to turn on, i have seen some breathtaking graphics with it.
    mike:

    you will never have 'true' DX 10 with FSX. FSX only provides a preview. follow JSkorna's steps and you will enable the preview.
    D.Scobie - new 'rig' is Core2 Duo E8400 at 3GHz w/2GB, Win. XP w/SP3, nVIDIA 9600GT 512MB

  5. Default

    thanks guys, i turned it on, and didnt think it was all that impressive, just the water and rain effects seemed a little better.


    thanks anyway.


    mike

  6. #6

    Default no dx10 box

    Quote Originally Posted by JSkorna View Post
    Hi,

    1. Have Vista.
    2. Have a DX 10 compatible video card.
    3. Have SP2 for FSX installed.
    4. If those are all met, there will be a DX10 Preview option on the Graphics screen in FSX for you to check. Then you exit FSX and restart FSX.
    1. I have windows 7
    2. I have a DX10 vidio card x2
    3.I have SP2 and Accelleration installed

    My problem..... I enable the DX10 preview box. Got tearing problems and decided to remove DX10 preview but the box/button is now missing. can anyone help?

  7. #7

    Default

    Thats the issue with the "preview" version of Dx-10 in FSX. Why most do not use it. Otherwise, it was never fully developed. You will get some strange graphics issues.
    CPU: I7 2600K @ 4.7 ghz, GPU and CPU water cooled
    GPU: EVGA GTX 780
    MEM: Gskill Rippjaw 1600 12800
    MB: Asus P8P67 Pro V3.1

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 1999
    Location
    Warren, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    10,970

    Default

    In your FSX,cfg file change

    D3D10=1

    TO

    D3D10=0

    Then save the file.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-11-2009, 08:54 PM
  2. Is it likely DirectX 9.0 will work if card specs say DirectX 8.1?
    By cmhodge in forum PC Hardware, Video And Audio Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-07-2005, 04:04 PM
  3. DIRECTX
    By mrpoo in forum FS2004
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-15-2003, 09:38 AM
  4. Win xp and directx
    By moorehill in forum FS98
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-28-2003, 05:57 PM
  5. directx 7
    By zone1 in forum FS98
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-18-2001, 09:06 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •