Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Flying the Learjet

Default Flying the Learjet

The other day, even though I'm still learning, I decided to try out the Learjet.
    Well I went through the preflight instructions and took to the air. Got it up with no problem (boy is that thing fast), flew around some before landing back at the airport I started from. Got it lined up with the runway, touched down, and applied the brakes. Well nothing happened. Kept pulling on the joystick trigger but it wouldn't slow down. Finally ended up off the end of the runway and stopping just short of some nice small pine trees. Thought to myself, what happened to the brakes. So I did the outside spotter view. There I was sitting flat down on my belly in some nicely mowed grass. Forgot to lower the landing gear. No wonder the brakes didn't work. And to add insult to injury, did it again yesterday. I figured, well at least I'm getting a lot of practice at this just in case the landing gear won't come down.

Bob

Blog Entries

Aside from your escapades, do you know about reverse thrust?

When you take the throttles back beyond idle( Press F1, hold F2), buckets will extend from the back of the engine to direct the thrust forward. Makes you slow down even quicker, even when you belly-land!
    I fly through the valley of death, but I fear no evil,for I am at 80,000 feet and climbing. Let's powerdive and scare that poor soul in that Ultralight there.

I didn't the first time, but I used them the second time (yesterday). I was stopped in the middle of the runway and not very far down it either.

Quote Originally Posted by thinman View Post
    I didn't the first time, but I used them the second time (yesterday). I was stopped in the middle of the runway and not very far down it either.
    There are a couple more things you can do besides making sure the gear is down before landing and using reverse thrust after landing.