Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: AI taxi speed

  1. #1
    Ekbi Guest

    Default AI taxi speed

    Hello folks

    I have a question about AI aircrafts.
    Is there any way I can chance the taxi speed of the AI Aircrafts, I think they move too slow.

    Happy landings

    Jim

  2. #2
    Silverblade Guest

    Default RE: AI taxi speed

    You may want to "chance" the airspeed but I wouldn't mind "changing" it.

    Anyway, moving 100+ tons of aluminum, fuel and passengers on tiny tires is usually done at 10-20 mph (~25 kph) depending on load. Side stresses on landing gear is a no-no, and stressing $1,000 - $3,000 tires puts you in the dog house with your flight manager!

    Silverblade

    http://www.flightsim.com/dcforum/Use...6b3fd541d6.jpg

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Leicester, England.
    Posts
    954

    Default RE: AI taxi speed

    I think they are too slow as well, I overtake them sometimes!

    Tony Clarke

  4. Default RE: AI taxi speed

    Maybe you're going too fast.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Raleigh, NC, USA.
    Posts
    1,193

    Default RE: AI taxi speed

    Overtaking is illegal at Airports! It's not a race track. :-lol

    Ankit

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Westminster, CO
    Posts
    5,495

    Default RE: AI taxi speed

    Well, the taxi speed is marginally acceptable on taxiways, though it is sometimes a bit annoying that 10 kts is as fast as they go- I'd like to see 15-20 on long straight stretches (except for taildraggers).

    But they slow down too quickly on the runway, then take forever to get to an exit. This is the cause of a lot of traffic delay.

    But so far as I know, MS has that locked into the program, with no way for us to change it. Come to think of it, their takeoffs are often too quick (short), and climbout on many aircraft is waaaaay too steep.

    Larry N.

    http://www.flightsim.com/dcforum/Use...de0e398ee2.jpg


    Larry N.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Leicester, England.
    Posts
    954

    Default RE: AI taxi speed

    Naah, not me going too fast, the AI aircraft even come to a standstill at some points for no apparent reason. x( They are not stopping cos something else is entering the taxiway, and ATC haven't told them to, so just overtake them, especially if you have a faster plane! :-lol

Similar Threads

  1. AI Taxi Speed
    By olafvi in forum FS5
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-30-2004, 03:17 PM
  2. taxi speed
    By redbird 1 in forum FS2004
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-01-2004, 10:03 PM
  3. AI Taxi Speed Speed in 2004
    By Pete Brennan in forum FS2004
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-12-2003, 03:18 AM
  4. AI Taxi Speed Speed in 2004
    By Pete Brennan in forum FS2004
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-09-2003, 12:25 PM
  5. AI Taxi Speed
    By TylerBloom in forum FS2002
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 05-13-2003, 03:56 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •