PDA

View Full Version : Who runs FS9 on a 1 ghzP3?



piliwi
08-13-2003, 07:26 AM
In a few months,I will have a new computer.So till now I'm using a dell dimension P3 1ghz,500ram memory,Geforce 2 ultra.
My question:can I buy FS2004 and run it on my system without too many problems,or is it better to wait a few months...
Just curious about others using this system with the new FS2004...

Hans

budreiser
08-13-2003, 08:28 AM
Parts for my new machine have just been shipped by Newegg. I'm running
FS2004 on my machine till I get the new one going. It's not the best
performance but I'm enjoying (and familiarizing myself with) all the
improvements from FS2002. Following are some of my specs:

ASUS Mobo (model unknown but at least 4 years old)
P3 500 Mhz
512 RAM
Voodoo 3DFX video card

My advice. Get the game. When you get the new computer you'll most
likely be amazed at the improvements.

sirecks
08-13-2003, 09:04 AM
I run a P3 1.0, MSI GeForce4 Ti4200 128MB, and PC133 768 RAM.

I would say, HECK YEAH!! Go and get it. Just hold onto what you are talking about there. Those of us with low end systems will never be able to run FS perfectly. Keep that in mind, and you won't be disappointed.

I have all my sliders at about the middle, with my resolution set on the X16 options (there is really no difference on my machine). I have my clouds set at 50% with 60 miles max vis and a 60 mile draw for the clouds.

In the air, I max out at my max 15 FPS. At uncrowded airports, on the ground I will see as high as 8 - 10. With multiple cloud layers, many planes, and lets say a big city, I will see about 5 - 7 FPS.

The biggest killers for me, as I am sure it is with everyone else is a dense cloud layer, and scenery.

Just play with the settings. Also, there have been some helps that I have used. One big help was the drivers from www.omegacorner.com and a program called EndItAll that you can use to shut down any "behind the scenes" programs that your computer is running. I get my FPS that I do with these new drivers and shutting down those programs.

I would say go get it. As long as you don't mislead yourself into thinking that it is going to run perfect, you won't be disappointed. I can live with my framerates because I am now being told in FS9 to "Taxi into position and hold. Caution Learjet on runway 18R." Also because if I don't like what approach ATC is giving me, I can select any runway and any approach that exists for that runway. So I only get 10 FPS, this FS is so great with all its new options, I can't stop playing with it. Go ahead and buy it. Heck, it comes with a $10 mail in rebate from Microsoft in the box. At least mine did.

SSgt. Adam J. Sereika, USAF
Flying Crew Chief - C-17A Globemaster III
http://www.flightsim.com/dcforum/User_files/3f1ed50d7bd725e5.jpg
"If a cow laughs, does milk come out of its nose?"

lnuss
08-13-2003, 09:57 AM
Well, I'm running it on a 900 MHz Athlon, and I don't plan a new machine any time soon. Does reasonably well, as long as I don't get carried away with the sliders.

morvious
08-13-2003, 11:23 AM
Seems that you guys can play fs9 better on a 1000 MHZ PC then on my new P4 2.66

I got a FPS of 8-10 no mather what my setting were, lucky for me i have an AMD 1000Mhz behind me, im going to try that one out!!

Cheers :(

piliwi
08-13-2003, 12:35 PM
Thanks for the suggestions!

So I will buy the FS2004 and try it out.

Those omegadrivers,is it really interesting?By now I run Windows2000 with the 30.82 Nvidia drivers.Will the omegadrivers do it better?

Hans

sirecks
08-13-2003, 12:40 PM
Don't know Hans,

I run XP Pro, and am not much of a computer guy. All I know is I have an NVidia card, download the NVidia drivers for XP, and my whole system runs much smoother and faster. Such as, my icons don't "pop" up one by one anymore. They are just there when my profile comes up.

I make you no promises or garuntees about what it will do for your system, but it really helped mine.

SSgt. Adam J. Sereika, USAF
Flying Crew Chief - C-17A Globemaster III
http://www.flightsim.com/dcforum/User_files/3f1ed50d7bd725e5.jpg
"If a cow laughs, does milk come out of its nose?"

faamecanic
08-13-2003, 12:55 PM
Adam... check your PMs buddy! I sent you my home email :-)

parshooter12
08-13-2003, 03:54 PM
My system:

Gateway Athelon 950 512MB memory ATI ragefury pro 32mb video.

I love FS9

I have most sliders set just a little left of half. Frames locked at 15. I get 15 in the air most of the time. 8-10 on approach.

Even with the sliders down FS9 looks so much better than 2002. In 2002 I can almost max all the sliders and get around 20fps anytime, but it doesn't look near as good. I took the sightseeing trip last night in the Rockies. It was beautiful. Landed the Caravan on a lake and then took off again and flew to Glacier park. FPS never went below 8 and stayed about 10 on the approach. Even with the mountains it was 12-15 fps in the air. Beautiful!!!

KBMN
08-13-2003, 04:19 PM
I'm running on a Celery 1.4G tualatin, 384Meg and a Ti4400 video on Win 98SE. With things either maxed or darn near, I get 20fps unless I'm over some serious scenery.

My wife's machine is a P3850, 384 Meg, GF2Gts and gets about 15fps average.

Yours should work just fine.

KB

HotShotDijon
08-13-2003, 05:56 PM
My computer : PIII 933Mhz, GeForce3 Ti200, 512Mo SDR, SBLive! 5.1... with sliders set at "medium low" to "medium high" settings, realtime weather, some add-on mesh sceneries, and thanks to some texture reworks (i.e. low-resampled clouds textures), I always get about 18-22 fps in 1024x768x32 resolution. The game is visually enjoyable and yet playable !

So... ;)