PDA

View Full Version : How do you position yourself on final approach?

BacardiDog
01-20-2011, 07:09 PM
Hello, I am new to FS 2004 and would like to practice VFR approaches. How do I position my self on final approach?

Thanks.

opaplano
01-20-2011, 07:11 PM
Hello, I am new to FS 2004 and would like to practice VFR approaches. How do I position my self on final approach?

Thanks.

Have you done the Lessons which are included in FS2004 (and FSX) ??

Landing is only one of the many subjects covered in the Lessons.

BacardiDog
01-20-2011, 07:17 PM
Hi there, thanks for the quick reply. I am familiar with the lessons, I actually got my licence quite a few years ago but haven't done much with it since. All i am looking for right now is a way to set up a 10 mile final at say 6000 feet. Appreciate any help you can provide.

torkermax
01-20-2011, 08:40 PM
Think about that a minute. 6000 ft AGL or 6000 ft MSL? Could be life or death. I position myself 3000ft above rwy elevation AGL at 10 mi. Most IFR localizer use that number also. Denver that would be around 7800 ft @ 10mi. 6000ft MSL will put you above the GS at say JFK. Even for VFR.

BacardiDog
01-20-2011, 08:42 PM
Ok, thanks. How do I position myself at 3000 feet agl 10 miles final?

Thanks.

BacardiDog
01-20-2011, 08:51 PM
What I am trying to do is position myself on final approach right off the bat. Is that possible or do I have to do a circut and then land? I just want to practice landing right now....

Thanks.

collotty
01-20-2011, 09:25 PM
you can fly an approach and when you reach 10 miles out save the flight and then everytime you want to do it just select the flight. you can also use the map to position ur plane at a certain elevation/speed/heading and once you click ok, that is where your plane will be.

BacardiDog
01-20-2011, 09:27 PM
Exactly what I was looking for. Thanks a million.

ilovetofly
01-20-2011, 09:31 PM