PDA

View Full Version : DC3 won't stop!

FOKite
12-20-2009, 01:25 PM
I am new to FS2004. I can just about fly the Douglas DC3 and land it but it just keeps rolling on past the runway into the trees when I try to stop. Brakes work fine with other aircraft. I use a joystick. Anything I can adjust or tweak?

ReggieF5421
12-20-2009, 01:36 PM
Brakes are always best when done proportionally from pedals.

But, with the DC-3 and tail draggers in general - once you are slow enough to put the tail on the ground, bring up the flaps and pull way, way back on the stick - use the elevator as a large air brake.

Make sure you have the tailwheel lock set.

opaplano
12-20-2009, 02:05 PM
Also be sure you are not attempting to land at a speed which is unrealistic. Check the kneeboard for recommendations.

When I first started flying the default DC3 (many years ago it seems) I kept collapsing the gear as I was coming in too fast and hard.

SPOFF
12-20-2009, 02:17 PM
Next time you land the Default DC-3, HOLD the Tail OFF the ground...and keep all the weight of the plane ON the main wheels only.....for as long as you can while applying the brakes. The tail will settle once the airspeed bleeds off. At the same time be carefull you don't "Nose Over". SPOFF

tatest
12-20-2009, 04:12 PM
Are you sure that you've touched down where you think you have?

If you are too fast coming into the flare, a lot of these old high-lift tail draggers will fly all the way down a 5000 foot runway in ground effect, even after you've chopped the power. DC-3, Ford, Fokker.

Brakes don't work until the wheels are firmly on the ground.

gander
12-20-2009, 11:42 PM
I too consider the brakes on FS9's default DC-3 unrealistically weak. I'd pretty much just adapted by using only long runways, telling myself they were coated with ice, and even then risking landing short every whiteknuckled time. But there is a FAR better solution.