PDA

View Full Version : Antivirus 2009



IronmanMLR
01-24-2009, 06:23 AM
Every time I go to the photobucket website and log in I am getting redirected to a message box about a virus. The message box that comes up is for Antivirus 2009, which is malware. Is anyone else having this problem? It has happened on two different computers and I have run a virus check on both computers with my own antivirus programs and nothing is found. I have a different antivirus program installed on each computer.

Leadraft
01-24-2009, 06:53 AM
I had a couple family members get that and the only way I could remove it was with AVG. McAfee didn't catch it.

You may have to physically delete the antivirus 2009 directory.

IronmanMLR
01-24-2009, 07:39 AM
It appears that my computer doesn't have it. There is no directory for Antivirus 2009. I have helped my neighbors with it several times so I have an idea what to do. It is possible there is a redirect in my IE that is directing me to the website that downloads it. Typically you will get a pop up message like I got and if you restart your computer without clicking in the pop up box, you should be safe. Even if you right click it will run the application installer that will download it to your computer. It then starts downloading viruses and trojans to your computer. It will bog it down majorly. This could be a different version that doesn't install to a directory I would recognize. Another problem with this malware is that even if you delete the directory it is in, it still can re-install it's self. It is the nastiest thing I have come across. I don't know how it is appearing as a pop up in the first place. My mom's computer has Norton's on it, and mine has Defender Pro, and my laptop has Avast on it. I have used AVG before as well. On the individual's computers that definetly had the virus. There wasn't a single antivirus that would remove all the virus's in the computer. Each one would fine something the other didn't. I have even used MS's online scanner. The problem I am having is that it is affecting just the photobucket website. I can logon else where with no problems, but if I logon to photobucket, bam the message comes up.

Leadraft
01-24-2009, 08:11 AM
That issue seems different than what I observed if it only affects one web site. Check the Manage Addons in IE and see if there's any suspicious addons. You may try resetting IE to default settings. Also, check startup programs in the system configuration.

It may be a pain, but you may want to download avgfree and do a scan. You can find it here:
http://free.avg.com/download-avg-anti-virus-free-edition

And lastly, if you google "remove antivirus 2009" you'll find tons of links on that subject.

Good luck.

As a warning to others, as Ironman has indicated, if you're browsing and a window pops up saying it's scanning your computer for viruses, close the browser immediately and do not click on any buttons in the window. If you let it run or click on scan details, I believe that's when it installs the malware.

IronmanMLR
01-24-2009, 09:25 AM
I increased my browser security settings to high and didn't get the message this time. Unfortunately the Java app that let's you upload doesn't work with those settings. I checked my startup apps and browser addons and didn't find anything unusual.

In addition to what Leadraft stated, don't even try right clicking on the title bar to close it. You can try using task manager to close it or you can just restart your computer.

gippy501
01-24-2009, 10:58 AM
http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/malware-removal/uninstall-antivirus-2009 <<< just go here.Excellent website.
I fell for this thing when it first came out. ( and I'm a security guy lol)
Jimbo

RyanbATC
01-24-2009, 12:08 PM
Don't do it....it's some phishing bull crap spyware crap that got on their servers. There's a huge post about it in the photobucket forums. Don't fall for it, you're PC is NOT infected.

Happens to me too, as of today.

http://www.pcworld.com/businesscenter/article/153810/antivirus_2009_how_to_remove_fake_av_software.html

azur
01-26-2009, 06:08 AM
Anyway, it doesn't hurt to use MS' malicious software removal tool to be sure.

http://www.microsoft.com/security/malwareremove/default.mspx

boxcar
01-29-2009, 01:21 PM
.
Hello Mike, my friend.

Photobucket indeed got hacked recently. All is well there again.

Read about it if you'd like: http://bbs.blackviper.com/index.php?PHPSESSID=nhj261jlgo7s0fnhvf8pnlbjg7&board=50.0

One can learn a whole lot there at his website too: http://www.blackviper.com/
In the upper left of the webpage click on choosing "White" for easier reads, imo.
.

azur
01-29-2009, 04:56 PM
Anyway, it doesn't hurt to use MS' malicious software removal tool to be sure.

http://www.microsoft.com/security/malwareremove/default.mspx
ok that microsoft tool is useless. I had to clean up a virus that's spread through a few computers, and while it detected it on some, it plain refused to detect it on one computer.

JimPadgett
02-05-2009, 08:23 PM
Get the cleaner from www.malwarebytes.org fix up your problems.