PDA

View Full Version : SCENERY.CFG file error???



HardCub
01-14-2009, 08:16 PM
Hello... does anyone know what this message means, and how to fix it?

SCENERY.CFG file error. Invalid Remote scenery path in scenery area.060. Click OK to continue.

When I clicked okay, the sim loaded new file databases and started. Literally hundreds of cities are now missing. For example, North Carolina only shows (2) and Oregon only shows 19. Once loaded up, the sim does not display correctly (runways are suspended in mid-air, scenery textures for land surfaces are missing)

Does anyone know how to fix this. The only changes I have made was to load a FS9 Mustang (freeware) and I decided to load a FS2002 soundset file for it. Now all of my FlightZone Portland scenery and other cities are missing.

Any help would be so much appreciated.
Glenn

stankar
01-14-2009, 08:44 PM
Hi Glenn
The scenery.cfg file is THE file which contains the references to where to find your scenery. You could go into this file itself (C:\Documents and Settings\Your name\Application Data\Microsoft\FS9) and take a look at what location its referring to, which might give you a hint. Then, what I would do is to go into the file library (from the main SETTINGS) option in FS, and delete the area under 60, which should delete it from the cfg file. Then reinstall this scenery, but make sure that it has been correctly downloaded and install it in accordance with the instructions.

If that doesn't work, then post what happens and we'll take it from there.

Stan

HardCub
01-14-2009, 09:26 PM
Thank you so much Stan. I will give that a try. BTW ~ my first name is Stanley:cool: Nice to see another guy with the same name.

HardCub
01-14-2009, 10:05 PM
I looked for the file, but could not find it. I do not have my FS9 on the C: drive. It is on the E: drive. I finally found (a) scenery.cfg file in the main FS9 folder. Under that file I found the following entry. I have listed a few prior and after scenery file entries with the .060 file which I have highlighted .

[Area.059]
Title=CAE Terminal
Local=Scenery\CAE Terminal
Remote=
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Layer=25

[Area.060]
Remote=
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Layer=26
Local=

[Area.061]
Title=KCHD Chandler AZ
Local=Addon Scenery\KCHD Chandler AZ
Remote=
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Layer=27

[Area.062]
Title=KDVT Deer Valley
Local=Addon Scenery\KDVT Deer Valley
Remote=
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Layer=28


Is this the correct file to be looking under?

I also went into the SETTINGS/Scenery Library within FS2004 and looked to see what might be different. There was a "BLANK" space enabled @ priority level 32. I un-checked it, and reloaded the simulator. Nothing changed, so I deleted the area. Once reloaded, still nothing seemed to change... I still only show (2) cities for North Carolina under the CREATE-A-FLIGHT menu.

Any ideas?

opaplano
01-14-2009, 10:22 PM
There is a fine utility to check and correct scenery.cfg errors - It is by Steve Greenwood and is called FSTScenery.exe.

It is part of a small suite of utilities which you download here:

http://home.earthlink.net/~smgreenwood/resources-g.shtml

Just click on the third item on the list which is displayed.

I would make a backup of your scenery.cfg file first before running this utility.

Hope this helps.

Anthony
01-15-2009, 03:22 AM
Hi Glenn_Matthews
It looks as if this is the reason that you are getting an error message:

[Area.060]
Here should be: Title= ...........
Here should be: Local=...........
Remote=
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Layer=26
Local=

The Scenery.cfg is telling FS2004 to look for this add on but not where to find it.
If it isn't too private to you or doesn't present a problem for you then show us your
Scenery.cfg it would make it a lot easier to help you.
I had a problem some time back where an add on had changed all the numbering and
a bit more also and nothing was going right untill I sorted it and rewrote the whole thing.

HardCub
01-15-2009, 04:54 PM
Hello Anthony. Thank you guys so much for any help you can provide on this. Here is my current Scenery.cfg file which is located in my main FS9 folder. I could not find it anywhere else. (Sorry)

Local=Scenery\Cities\Seattle
Layer=31
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Remote=

[Area.032]
Title=St. Maarten Aerial Photo
Local=Scenery\Cities\Stmaarten
Layer=1
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Remote=

[Area.033]
Title=Sydney Aerial Photo
Layer=2
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Local=Scenery\Cities\Sydney
Remote=

[Area.034]
Title=Tokyo Aerial Photo
Layer=3
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Local=Scenery\Cities\Tokyo
Remote=

[Area.035]
Title=Generic Libraries
Local=Scenery\Generic
Layer=4
Active=TRUE
Required=TRUE
Remote=

[Area.036]
Title=Vehicle Libraries
Local=Scenery\Vehicles
Layer=5
Active=TRUE
Required=TRUE
Remote=

[Area.037]
Title=Propeller Objects
Local=Scenery\props
Layer=6
Active=TRUE
Required=TRUE
Remote=

[Area.039]
Title=Ultimate Terrain - Canada/Alaska
Local=SCENERY\UTCANADA
Layer=7
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Remote=

[Area.040]
Title=Ultimate Terrain - USA
Local=SCENERY\UTUSA
Layer=8
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Remote=

[Area.41]
Title=FlightZone01 LandClass
Local=Addon Scenery\FlightZone01_LC
Remote=
Active=True
Required=False
Layer=41

[Area.42]
Title=FlightZone01
Local=Addon Scenery\FlightZone01_SC
Remote=
Active=True
Required=False
Layer=42

[Area.043]
Title=Imagine Simulation - KCLT Charlotte
Local=Imagine Simulation\KCLT Charlotte
Remote=
Required=FALSE
Active=TRUE
Layer=9
Flatten.0=748,N35 14.01,W80 57.56,N35 14.01,W80 55.40,N35 11.68,W80 55.40,N35 11.68,W80 57.56

[Area.041]
Title=FlightZone01 LandClass
Local=Addon Scenery\FlightZone01_LC
Remote=
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Layer=38

[Area.042]
Title=FlightZone01
Local=Addon Scenery\FlightZone01_SC
Remote=
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Layer=40

[Area.047]
Title=KSTL StLouis
Local=Addon Scenery\KSTL StLouis
Remote=
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Layer=10

[Area.048]
Title=US Columbia River Gorge scenery
Local=Addon Scenery\US Columbia River Gorge scenery
Remote=
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Layer=54

[Area.049]
Title=Alaska Glacier Bay Landscape
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Local=FSAddon\Glacier Bay\Alaska Glacier Bay landscape
Layer=11
Remote=

[Area.050]
Title=Alaska Glacier Bay Scenery
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Local=FSAddon\Glacier Bay\Alaska Glacier Bay scenery
Layer=12
Remote=

[Area.051]
Title=KEUG - Eugene, Oregon
Local=Addon Scenery\KEUG - Eugene, Oregon
Remote=
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Layer=13

[Area.052]
Title=Newport, OR KONP
Local=Addon Scenery\Newport, OR KONP
Remote=
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Layer=14

[Area.053]
Title=Pebble Shores
Local=Addon Scenery\Pebble Shores
Remote=
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Layer=15

[Area.054]
Title=NC lighthouses
Local=Addon Scenery\NC lighthouses
Remote=
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Layer=16

[Area.055]
Title=North Carolina
Local=Addon Scenery\North Carolina
Remote=
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Layer=17

[Area.056]
Title=kavl
Local=Addon Scenery\kavl
Remote=
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Layer=18

[Area.057]
Title=FLL2008
Local=Addon Scenery\FLL2008
Remote=
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Layer=19

[Area.058]
Title=Static Objects Library
Local=Addon Scenery\Static Objects Library
Remote=
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Layer=20

[Area.059]
Title=CAE Terminal
Local=Scenery\CAE Terminal
Remote=
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Layer=21


[Area.061]
Title=KCHD Chandler AZ
Local=Addon Scenery\KCHD Chandler AZ
Remote=
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Layer=22

[Area.062]
Title=KDVT Deer Valley
Local=Addon Scenery\KDVT Deer Valley
Remote=
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Layer=23

[Area.063]
Title=KGEU Glendale Az
Local=Addon Scenery\KGEU Glendale Az
Remote=
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Layer=24

[Area.064]
Title=KGYR Goodyear AZ
Local=Addon Scenery\KGYR Goodyear AZ
Remote=
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Layer=25

[Area.065]
Title=KIWA Mesa AZ
Local=Addon Scenery\KIWA Mesa AZ
Remote=
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Layer=26

[Area.066]
Title=KSDL Scottsdale
Local=Addon Scenery\KSDL Scottsdale
Remote=
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Layer=27

[Area.067]
Title=Dash 8 Frankfurt
Local=scenedb\Dash8\eddf
Active=TRUE
Layer=28
Flatten.0=364,N50 03.78,E08 28.37,N50 03.78,E08 36.99,N49 58.89,E08 36.99,N49 58.89,E08 28.73
Remote=
Required=FALSE

[Area.068]
Title=Dash 8 London City
Local=scenedb\Dash8\eglc
Active=TRUE
Layer=29
Flatten.0=16,N51 30.83,E0 05.26,N51 30.83,E0 01.50,N51 29.69,E0 01.50,N51 29.69,E0 05.26
Remote=
Required=FALSE

[Area.069]
Title=Dash 8 Milan
Local=scenedb\Dash8\limc
Active=TRUE
Layer=30
Exclude=N45 39.29,E08 42.32,N45 35.83,E08 44.73,all
Flatten.0=767,N45 39.60,E08 41.30,N45 39.60,E08 45.64,N45 35.65,E08 45.14,N45 35.65,E08 42.72
Remote=
Required=FALSE

[Area.070]
Title=EDTQ Pattonville
Local=Addon Scenery\EDTQ Pattonville
Remote=
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Layer=31

[Area.071]
Title=KCHO
Local=Addon Scenery\KCHO
Remote=
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Layer=32

[Area.072]
Title=KIAD
Local=Addon Scenery\KIAD
Remote=
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Layer=33

[Area.073]
Title=FRF-KJFKv5
Local=Addon Scenery\FRF-KJFKv5
Remote=
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Layer=34

[Area.074]
Title=statueofliberty
Local=Addon Scenery\statueofliberty
Remote=
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Layer=35

[Area.075]
Title=WTC 2007
Local=Addon Scenery\WTC 2007
Remote=
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Layer=37

[Area.076]
Title=SiouxLookoutCYXL
Local=Addon Scenery\SiouxLookoutCYXL
Remote=
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Layer=41

[Area.077]
Title=SiouxLookoutGRASS
Local=Addon Scenery\SiouxLookoutGRASS
Remote=
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Layer=42

[Area.078]
Title=KORF2k4
Local=Addon Scenery\KORF2k4
Remote=
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Layer=43

[Area.079]
Title=St Pete V4
Local=Addon Scenery\St Pete V4
Remote=
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Layer=44

[Area.080]
Title=VOZ AF2 Scenery
Local=Addon Scenery\VOZ AF2 Scenery
Remote=
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Layer=45

[Area.081]
Title=VOZ Darwin Photoreal
Local=Addon Scenery\VOZ Darwin Photoreal
Remote=
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Layer=51

[Area.082]
Title=VOZ EZ-Library
Local=Addon Scenery\VOZ EZ-Library
Remote=
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Layer=50

[Area.083]
Title=VOZ Landclass
Local=Addon Scenery\VOZ Landclass
Remote=
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Layer=46

[Area.084]
Title=VOZ Matts Custom Landclass
Local=Addon Scenery\VOZ Matts Custom Landclass
Remote=
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Layer=47

[Area.085]
Title=VOZ Matts Dry Custom Landclass
Local=Addon Scenery\VOZ Matts Dry Custom Landclass
Remote=
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Layer=48

[Area.086]
Title=VOZ Scenery
Local=Addon Scenery\VOZ Scenery
Remote=
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Layer=49

[Area.087]
Title=FlightZone02 LandClass
Local=Addon Scenery\FlightZone02_LC
Remote=
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Layer=52

[Area.088]
Title=FlightZone02
Local=Addon Scenery\FlightZone02_SC
Remote=
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Layer=53
[General]
Clean_on_Exit=TRUE

I think I may have discovered the problem, or at least the solution to it... not sure what 'caused' it to happen. I just noticed that I have an 'OLD'scenery.cfg file located in the main fold of FS9 as well. It has an unknown file configuration... I am going to try changing the file type to be 'read' as a 'Windows Word file' and see if that works.

I have to dash off to pick-up my kids @ their school so I will be back soon. I'll check this forum ASAP and then if instructed, I will try switching the cfg. files and see what happens. Who knows? It may just work! :eek::D

Anthony
01-16-2009, 03:26 AM
Hi Glenn Matthews
Glenn (Stanley) you really have a mess there, the front end of the scenery.cfg seems to be
missing
- yours starts with Area #31 and that does not have a title either.
- Area #41 and #42 are registered twice for two separate sceneries.

That's as far as I have checked as yet.
It's O.K to have more than one scenery.xxx in your FS file as long as only one has Scenery.CFG as its title, some sceneries back up the old Configuration when they install and name it Scenery.bak or something similar so that you can always turn the clock back if something goes wrong.
If I may make a suggestion you could either:
Have a look into one of the older Scenery.xxx files to see if it the same as the one that you have now + all the missing #ís from 1 to 30 and no [Area # =] double entries.
Edit the whole thing yourself.
Or probably better in your case go into your FS start screen - Scenery manager - deactivate the whole lot with the check boxes and then let FS delete the entries also with the check boxes, shut down FS.
Restart FS and then invest a couple of hours and still using the Scenery manager reactivate them all. It's a bit of a time consumer but you don't have all that much in there, and that is probably the only way to get all the bugs out plus the fact that FS knows exactly where to rewrite and place the new Config file. I think that one is down in the root directory under C:/Documents.../Users/Prog.../Microsoft/FS9/... but I am not certain which one copies the other.
Another point is if you do reactivate everything then go into your new Scenery.cfg and check that all the
Exclude=
Flatten=
entries are written back in there, you will probably have to write them in yourself so make a readout of the Scenery.cfg before you do anything.
I have often read here that deleting the Scenery.cfg file forces FS to write a new one, but I donít know which of the two you should delete, maybe both. and I also donít know if it really works when you have add ons in there.
Have fun you could be busy for a little while, and let us know how you managed.
Anthony

opaplano
01-16-2009, 05:44 AM
NO NO NO - Do NOT delete your scenery.cfg file - FS2004 will NOT rebuilt it as it does the FS9.cfg file.

Instead, you will get the error message seen in the attached screenshot.

Hope this helps.

Anthony
01-16-2009, 08:53 AM
That's good to know Opa, don't have to shout though.
Anthony

alastairmonk
01-16-2009, 10:46 AM
Hi Glenn,

I think David was "shouting" as deleting all copies of the scenery.cfg is indeed bad news......

I agree that hand-editing the scenery.cfg and checking that you have all the 39 default entries is the way to go. This should start with the basic levels, followed by the regional layers, the photoscenery layers and the Default Addon Scenery layer, in ascending priority.

You may also find that keeping the AREA and LAYER numbers "harmonized" is a good policy. When you add a new scenery and change priority the AREA number remains in the order that you added the scenery whilst the LAYER number reflects the changed priorities, and in a very short time they become mis-matched, which complicates any "debugging".

FYI - when a new scenery layer is added using the Scenery Editor and then saved the current scenery.cfg becomes oldscenery.cfg and the modified one newscenery.cfg Then, when you start up FS2004, it recognises that changes have been made and updates its database, changing newscenery.cfg to scenery.cfg

Once you have a "working system" its a good idea to copy the scenery.cfg to an archive, so that if in the future the same thing happens again you have a "working copy" to fall back on.

If you need a copy of the default FS2004 scenery.cfg file, let me know, but you shouls be able to cut-and-paste the following:

[General]
Title=FS9 World Scenery
Description=FS9 Scenery Data
Clean_on_Exit=FALSE

[Area.001]
Title=Default Terrain
Texture_ID=1
Layer=1
Active=TRUE
Required=TRUE
Local=Scenery\World


[Area.002]
Title=Default Scenery
Local=Scenery\BASE
Layer=2
Active=TRUE
Required=TRUE

[Area.003]
Title=Africa
Layer=3
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Local=Scenery\Afri


[Area.004]
Title=Asia
Layer=4
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Local=Scenery\Asia


[Area.005]
Title=Australia
Layer=5
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Local=Scenery\Aust


[Area.006]
Title=Eastern Europe
Local=Scenery\EURE
Layer=6
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE

[Area.007]
Title=Western Europe
Local=Scenery\EURW
Layer=7
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE

[Area.008]
Title=Central North America
Local=Scenery\NAMC
Layer=8
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE

[Area.009]
Title=Eastern North America
Local=Scenery\NAME
Layer=9
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE

[Area.010]
Title=Western North America
Local=Scenery\NAMW
Layer=10
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE

[Area.011]
Title=Oceania
Layer=11
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Local=Scenery\Ocen


[Area.012]
Title=South America
Layer=12
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Local=Scenery\Same


[Area.013]
Title=Amsterdam Aerial Photo
Layer=13
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Local=Scenery\Cities\Amsterd


[Area.014]
Title=Anchorage Aerial Photo
Layer=14
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Local=Scenery\Cities\Anchor


[Area.015]
Title=Atlanta Aerial Photo
Layer=15
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Local=Scenery\Cities\Atlanta


[Area.016]
Title=Chicago Aerial Photo
Layer=16
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Local=Scenery\Cities\Chicago


[Area.017]
Title=Dallas Aerial Photo
Local=Scenery\Cities\Dallas
Layer=17
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE

[Area.018]
Title=Denver Aerial Photo
Local=Scenery\Cities\Denver
Layer=18
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE


[Area.019]
Title=Heathrow Aerial Photo
Layer=19
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Local=Scenery\Cities\Heathrow


[Area.020]
Title=Hong Kong Aerial Photo
Layer=20
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Local=Scenery\Cities\Hongkong


[Area.021]
Title=Kitty Hawk Aerial Photo
Layer=21
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Local=Scenery\Cities\Kittyhwk

[Area.022]
Title=Las Vegas Aerial Photo
Layer=22
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Local=Scenery\Cities\Lasvegas


[Area.023]
Title=Los Angeles Aerial Photo
Layer=23
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Local=Scenery\Cities\La


[Area.024]
Title=Miami Aerial Photo
Layer=24
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Local=Scenery\Cities\Miami

[Area.025]
Title=New York Aerial Photo
Local=Scenery\Cities\NewYork
Layer=25
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE

[Area.026]
Title=Niagara Aerial Photo
Layer=26
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Local=Scenery\Cities\Niagara

[Area.027]
Title=Oshkosh Aerial Photo
Local=Scenery\Cities\Oshkosh
Layer=27
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE

[Area.028]
Title=Paris Aerial Photo
Layer=28
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Local=Scenery\Cities\Paris

[Area.029]
Title=Phoenix Aerial Photo
Layer=29
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Local=Scenery\Cities\Phoenix

[Area.030]
Title=San Francisco Aerial Photo
Layer=30
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Local=Scenery\Cities\Sanfran

[Area.031]
Title=Seattle Aerial Photo
Local=Scenery\Cities\Seattle
Layer=31
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE

[Area.032]
Title=St. Maarten Aerial Photo
Local=Scenery\Cities\Stmaarten
Layer=32
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE

[Area.033]
Title=Sydney Aerial Photo
Layer=33
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Local=Scenery\Cities\Sydney

[Area.034]
Title=Tokyo Aerial Photo
Layer=34
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE
Local=Scenery\Cities\Tokyo

[Area.035]
Title=Generic Libraries
Local=Scenery\Generic
Layer=35
Active=TRUE
Required=TRUE

[Area.036]
Title=Vehicle Libraries
Local=Scenery\Vehicles
Layer=36
Active=TRUE
Required=TRUE

[Area.037]
Title=Propeller Objects
Local=Scenery\props
Layer=37
Active=TRUE
Required=TRUE

[Area.038]
Title=Addon Scenery
Local=Addon Scenery
Layer=38
Active=TRUE
Required=FALSE


Note: the scenery.cfg and related files should only be read and edited in Notepad, not Word. The latter will add extra attributes and will probably cause problems.

Cheers,

Alastair

Anthony
01-16-2009, 10:55 AM
It's nice to see that you agree with me Alastair.
Anthony

HardCub
01-16-2009, 07:49 PM
I want to say THANK YOU to each of you (David, Anthony and Alastair) for offering your much needed help with my problem.:)

Unfortunately, I could not get the problem resolved and so I have decided to format everything:eek: and re-install the whole system (including Windows XP Pro). I guess it was about time for a fresh restart anyways:rolleyes:... this build had been in place since 2006. So, I should notice a marked improvement in everything once again with a nice fresh installation. At least THAT is my goal.:cool:

Again, THANK YOU SO MUCH for all of the wonderful help!
Wishing you each one a fun & relaxing weekend!
Glenn Mullis;)