PDA

View Full Version : Aircraft Carrier Locations in Acceleration



bluez87
11-16-2007, 04:14 PM
Bill, moderator of Panels & Gauges Forum, recently posted that the AI aircraft carriers in Acceleration can be found in their “homeport” on Friday afternoons.

He also stated that you need to turn "Ship Traffic" up to 100% for them all to appear in the sim.

They will all be in their "homeport" on Friday afternoons...
Honolulu: N21 13 W157 54
Norfolk: N36 58 W075 29
Boca Raton: N26 23 W079 58
Seattle: N48 10 W123 02
San Francisco: N37 52 W122 43
San Diego: N32 38 W117 12

All of these coordinates are offshore. It is presumed that these locations are the “homeport”.

Has anyone been able to find any of them? I looked at all of the sites at those exact coordinates using the MAP to set the coordinates, but found no aircraft carriers. The time I checked was 2:30pm CST. Ship traffic is at 100%. Let me know if I am doing something wrong.

If anyone finds one, please post the coordinates and any other info. as soon as possible before they move too far off to track.

Thanks,
Dennis

bluez87
11-16-2007, 08:37 PM
Found the AI aircraft carrier at San Francisco. Coordinates were N37° 44.65’ W122° 36.69’. It was sitting about a mile from the Golden Gate Bridge and didn’t seem to be moving. This is apparently its “home port” until it moves out again.

As expected, there are no arresting cables or launch catapults. It is a simple AI ship and not intended as a functional aircraft carrier. Nonetheless, you can land on the ship.

To insure that I did it on the first try, knowing there was no arresting cables, I used the Cessna Skyhawk for the landing. It will take almost the entire runway to stop, but it can be done if you don’t overshoot the landing zone. Once again, it is an AI ship, so don’t look for any landing aids.

Once on the ship, curiosity took over and I changed the Cessna to the F-18A to see if it could take off without a catapult. I set full flaps, spooled up the engines just short of the afterburners. After stabilizing, I kicked in the after burners and released the parking brake.

How realistic that is I have no idea. It was just for fun. Close to the edge you are only at about 105 knots, but the after burners really accelerate enormously at this speed. Just after clearing the deck, it was at 170 knots.

With no functional components on the AI aircraft carrier, it doesn’t have much use other than just for fun.
Dennis

bstolle
11-17-2007, 02:45 AM
Dennis,

The carrier at KSFO is a static scenery object. Not the carrier that comes with the acceleration add-on.

Here's an example. AFAIK there are even more carriers at different locations (and times?) available.

1. Place your aircraft at KNGU (Norfolk NAS)
2. This is ESSENTIAL. Time & Season: (any season) Friday, suggest latest at 1500 Local time because the carrier is still static.
This means you can watch your catshots and traps via the replay function...
3. The carrier leaves at 1535. So after this time you can do circuits on the moving carrier...
4. Traffic setting: ships & ferries at least 50%.

Regards

Bernt Stolle Capt 767

bluez87
11-17-2007, 12:30 PM
Bernt,

Thanks for the info. That is a much more detailed AI aircraft carrier. I found it with no problem.

You did provide me with a heads-up “well-duh” reality. I had patiently waited until Friday afternoon to begin looking for the aircraft carriers. Hey, why not just use the Time & Season and set it to any Friday afternoon around 13:00 hrs. Thanks for helping me smell the coffee.

Again, it was just out of curiosity and for fun. The best thing is to use the Missions where the catshots and traps actually work.
I was interested in what I have been told is a standard procedure. When an aircraft carrier approaches home port, aircraft are flown off the carrier miles before arriving at the homeport and land at various inland military airbases. When the carrier gets underway again, the aircraft fly out of the land based airbases and rendezvous with the aircraft carrier after it is some distance offshore.

It would be great if there was a mission that did this, perhaps with AI aircraft flying along.

Thanks again for your help.
Dennis

N99WB
11-17-2007, 01:22 PM
"The best thing is to use the Missions where the catshots and traps actually work."

I'm able to use the the cat and traps. Are you sure you've found the right carrier?

lightbg
11-17-2007, 02:00 PM
"aicar2r2.zip" by Lamont Clark

Get this and use it. In free flight mode you can hit "ShiftJ" and it will call up a menu that will allow you to place a single carrier or a fleet either underneath your position or close by, and also leave them static or have them move. You can launch and trap as long as you like, and when you exit free flight the carriers leave as well, so you can place them all over and not clutter up the FSX oceans......and it doesn't matter what day, time, or season........just as long as you're over water.

Hope this helps.

Jake

bstolle
11-17-2007, 05:18 PM
In Norfolk there should be two carriers side by side. One 'static' non-functional scenery object and a 'real' carrier with working catapults and arresting gear.

Regards

Bernt Stolle Capt 767

bluez87
11-17-2007, 06:07 PM
Bernt,

I think that I am going to the correct location. I have set the Time & Season for Friday at 13:30 hrs. I use Rwy 28 out of KNGU, then turn right to about 350°. The carrier is only a short distance away.

I have the Ship traffic set to 100%. There is only the one carrier at this location.

I will try resetting the time and see if I can get both carriers to appear.

Does the inactive carrier also have aircraft on the deck? The one I am finding does have several jets and a helicopter on deck.

Thanks for sticking with me on this. I'll post a response on my latest efforts within the hour.

By the way, what’s up with KNGU?! I found it amusing to see auto traffic buzzing across runway 10. That is even the case with Ultimate Terrain. I went to Google Earth and found that the roadway appears to run underneath the end of the runway and not over the top. Neither Ultimate Terrain nor FSX noted this technicality. If you time it very carefully, you can takeoff between the big semi and the convertible, but watch out for the taxicab! lol

Thanks again,
Dennis

bluez87
11-17-2007, 07:08 PM
Okay, I’ve tried everything I can think of doing, but still no luck. There is only one aircraft carrier at the dock, no matter what time of day I use.

I have tried it with Ultimate Terrain on and off.

Day of the week set to Friday, November 16, 2007.

Times tried at 12:38, 13:38, and 14:38. (I live in Texas but times used should cover time differences, although I think FSX uses local time, if you set the airport first. Nonetheless, using the times I selected should have worked whether or not it was Central or Eastern time.)

Ships and Ferries set to 100%.

After taking off from Rwy 28, I turn to heading 320°, not 350° as I stated before.

Attached is a photo of what I find.

I’m not sure what could be happening. If you can see it on your computer I cannot figure out why it won’t appear on mine; however, strange mysteries abound in the world of computers.

I will keep trying from time to time to see if I might get lucky enough to locate it.

Thanks for helping!
Dennis

bluez87
11-17-2007, 08:26 PM
Jake,

I wasn't ignoring your post. I was trying to get the one at Norfolk located and hadn't had time to try your suggestion.

Fantastic! Has someone posted this information on this website? Did I miss this?

It works great and has been updated for Acceleration. Installs easily and automatically recognizes if you are using Acceleration and don't need the hard deck option.

Although the carrier and/or fleet disappears each time you exit FSX, you can still save a Free Flight. Just be aware that when you open the Saved flight your aircraft will be sitting over an empty ocean. Simply press Shift + J to activate the carrier options and select the carrier you had saved. It will then appear with your aircraft now located on the deck and ready to go.

The options for different fleet configurations was a surprise and really put the icing on the cake.

This is a great freebie program. Anyone interested in movable and fully functional aircraft carriers should definitely have this add-on.

Thanks for telling me about this. I'm still trying to find the one at Norfolk.

Dennis

lightbg
11-17-2007, 09:47 PM
>Jake,
>
>I wasn't ignoring your post. I was trying to get the one at
>Norfolk located and hadn't had time to try your suggestion.
>
>Fantastic! Has someone posted this information on this
>website? Did I miss this?
>
>It works great and has been updated for Acceleration. Installs
>easily and automatically recognizes if you are using
>Acceleration and don't need the hard deck option.
>
>Although the carrier and/or fleet disappears each time you
>exit FSX, you can still save a Free Flight. Just be aware that
>when you open the Saved flight your aircraft will be sitting
>over an empty ocean. Simply press Shift + J to activate the
>carrier options and select the carrier you had saved. It will
>then appear with your aircraft now located on the deck and
>ready to go.
>
>The options for different fleet configurations was a surprise
>and really put the icing on the cake.
>
>This is a great freebie program. Anyone interested in movable
>and fully functional aircraft carriers should definitely have
>this add-on.
>
>Thanks for telling me about this. I'm still trying to find the
>one at Norfolk.
>
>Dennis


Dennis,

I'm glad it worked out for you. I think it's the sleeper add on of the year for FSX. I don't bother saving a flight while on deck since I like the freedom of launching from whatever airport strikes my fancy and creating my fleet right where I want it to be....... and I usually use a helo or the V22 Osprey so I can practice VERTREP (Vertical Replenishment) operations between the carrier and the support ships (the destroyers and cruisers all have hard decks. Throw in a little weather and night ops and you have a real challenge........sort of an "instant" mission.

BTW, when I use Norfolk things get a little "busy" since I also have the Aerosoft Seahawk/Boxer and the AlphaSim USS Belleau Wood installed, and they're all in the vicinity....throw in a battle group and I'll need ATC for surface traffic.......

Grab a 3 wire!

Jake

scott967
11-17-2007, 09:55 PM
Just remember @ 1330 on Friday the typical airdale is on the beach waiting for happy hour, while the shoes are working hard bringing the ship (which for some perverse reason airdales insist on calling boat) up the channel towards Thimble Shoals Light.

scott s.
been there, done that, got the SWO pin
.

bstolle
11-18-2007, 12:13 AM
Dennis,

Strange. Unfortunately I'm sitting in New York with my company laptop and hence only fs9. I'll be back home tommorow and check. The non working carrier is the one with the helos etc. on the deck.
BTW I need the static working carrier because I love the landing replays. Especially from the tower view the look great.

Regards

Bernt Stolle Capt 767

bstolle
11-19-2007, 10:25 AM
Dennis,

That's really strange. Tried everything. Even with scenery density at very sparse I can only make the 'static' non-working carrier 'disappear'
Sorry that I can't help you. Maybe there's an interfering add-on?

Regards

Bernt Stolle Capt 767

bluez87
11-19-2007, 02:53 PM
Bernt,

Thanks for the help. There is no doubt that there is a file problem somewhere or I have an incorrect setting some place. I have not been able to locate any of the other carriers in their home ports either. Static carriers are the only ones I find.

I did find the freebie add-on program for FSX Acceleration that places carriers in any location you choose. Everything functions, so it will work just as well. If you don't already know about this program, check it out. It's very good.

aicar2r2.zip The author is Lamont Clark.

Thanks again,
Dennis

pepsimachine
11-19-2007, 07:02 PM
I discovered after hours of trying to find the carriers that if you have installed different AI traffic that is using the FS9 format that the ship traffic (which includes carriers) is not visible. As soon as I went back to the original trafficaircraft.bgl file they showed up. Hope this helps some of you.

dc8flightseck
11-20-2007, 03:00 PM
where can I download this program? I have a real F-4 Navy Phantom simulator that I want to be able to operate from carriers with. Missions wont let me change the aircraft type so I must fly in free flight. I also need to find out how to modify the Phantom I am using so that the LSO starts talking when I approach the carrier.

www.phantom.highspeedzone.com
Justin

>Bernt,
>
>Thanks for the help. There is no doubt that there is a file
>problem somewhere or I have an incorrect setting some place. I
>have not been able to locate any of the other carriers in
>their home ports either. Static carriers are the only ones I
>find.
>
>I did find the freebie add-on program for FSX Acceleration
>that places carriers in any location you choose. Everything
>functions, so it will work just as well. If you don't already
>know about this program, check it out. It's very good.
>
>aicar2r2.zip The author is Lamont Clark.
>
>Thanks again,
>Dennis

lightbg
11-20-2007, 04:38 PM
>where can I download this program?
>www.phantom.highspeedzone.com
>Justin


Justin,

Go to the FSX Downloads section of FlightSim.com and establish a password if you haven't already. Then go to File Search and plug in
"aicar2r2.zip"(The author is Lamont Clark). Download the file, establish a System Restore point for your security and install the program and you're good to go. As far as LSO comms go, I haven't heard any of that in free flight, but I may have a radio tuned wrong.....

Hope this helps.

Jake

cajun
11-20-2007, 08:25 PM
I took off from NAS Norfolk (C172) and flew over the harbor and an aircraft carrier in port with static planes. This was at 1500 on Friday afternoon. As soon as I climbed out on a heading of about 120, I saw another carrier off the coast. I flew to this moving carrier and landed. I took off from the carrier and flew foe about 35 minutes and came back to the carrier which was at this time traveling south along the coast. Landed again. I have FSX Accelleration installed so this could be what should happen. The carrier had wires and catapult.

dc8flightseck
11-20-2007, 08:46 PM
I found the carriers too. I also played with the time stting to move the carrier to where i wanted it. I trapped my Phantom with no problem. Now if I could figure out how to make my F-4 Phantom launchable from the Microsoft carriers...

lightbg
11-20-2007, 09:27 PM
>I found the carriers too. I also played with the time stting
>to move the carrier to where i wanted it. I trapped my Phantom
>with no problem. Now if I could figure out how to make my F-4
>Phantom launchable from the Microsoft carriers...

Use this code in your Aircraft cfg. file:

[launch assistance]
launch_bar_pivot=15.43, 0.00, -6.00
launch_bar_lug=17.00, 0.00, -7.92

This was for the AlphaSim A-6E Intruder, so you may have to play with the numbers to line it up with the nose gear, but it'll get you into the ballpark. You won't see a movint launchbar unless your plane is hard coded with one, but the cat shot, steam trail, and moving JBD will all work.

Jake

dc8flightseck
11-24-2007, 04:38 PM
I discovered that TWO carriers are passing each other at San Diego on Tuesday at 1924, just south of North Island NAS. One is arriving, one is leaving and they each have 2 escorts!

captain_lj
03-06-2008, 01:02 PM
There is another carrier location:

Guam
N13 26.93
E144 38.11
Elev +77

If you fly SW from the military or civilian base...its inside the bay there.

Its a static carrier.

rrasfly
01-05-2011, 09:22 PM
is 1924 the time?

hgthebest2
10-11-2013, 06:19 PM
Thank you sooo much!:pilot: I went honolulu on 11th oct 2013 day fall and i had my ships&ferries 100% and my leisure boats 100%

My aircraft was Beechcraft Baron 58 G1000 Glass cockpit


U cant miss it!

jorgen.s.andersen
10-11-2013, 07:06 PM
I can see this is your first post. Please take a look at the time stamps before you reply to such OLD threads - this thread was from 2007, someone dug it out in 2008, another in 2011, and now you.... don't you think this discussion is WAY over?

Welcome on board, but do check the time stamps....

Jorgen