PDA

View Full Version : Landing

fsc_MA
03-12-2002, 12:44 PM
Hi.
I am new to FS2002. Please can someone explain to me that how do I land big planes, like:

Boeing 747
Boeing 777
Boeing 737

Thank you.
Please reply as soon as possible.

nwabri
03-12-2002, 12:54 PM
Well, that can be complicated. But, if you can get lined up to the runway, that is a start. You are going to want to use your flaps alot. Have them fully extended to keep you nice and slow. Then try to keep your airspeed anywhere between 160 and 180. Look at the reference in the kneeboard for help on speeds. Fly it straight in, and when you are over the numbers, or just before, cut the throttle and let the back wheels touch down first, apply the spoilers, and reverse thrust and you should stop on the runway. However, if you are having troubles lining up with the runway, use the EFIS. Tune the runway ILS frequency in the NAV 1 in the radio stack. Then turn on the EFIS and you should get a path that will take you right down. Other then that, landing takes practice. Keep trying, and you will get it.

Brian A. Neuman
Wooodbury, MN
http://www.neumanflight.com *Coming Soon*

rumpel
03-12-2002, 01:10 PM
You say you are new to FS2002. Does that mean FS2002 only, or MS Flight Simulator in general?

If you are completely new to MS Flight Simlator, I suggest you forget about the big airplanes for a while, and learn how to fly (not just land) the Cessna 172 (lessons section). Then, depending upon your practice time and natural ability, you can work your way up gradually through the propellor airplanes, the smaller jets then the big jets.

The manuals on the CD are required, but can be printed out as needed, avoiding one long session to print out all the airplanes.

If you try to start cold with one of the big heavy jets, I think you will quickly decide that this game is no fun at all.

Rumpel

lnuss
03-12-2002, 06:06 PM