PDA

View Full Version : Something odd just happened to my keyboard settings!



CarlosTheTackle
01-28-2002, 05:14 AM
I am currently undergoing a major overhaul of my keyboard assignments. I just reassigned all the autopilot hold keys. A problem: Now when I push the new heading hold key the heading bug jumps to the current heading. Likewise when I push the altitude hold the altitude setting jumps to the current altitude instead of the value I had preset. Even when I reassign the keys back to the original values the problem still occurs.
:-mad :-mad :-mad
Help!

Anyone got any ideas??


Carl.

http://www.flightsim.com/dcforum/User_files/3c50a61d3488b093.jpg

CarlosTheTackle
01-28-2002, 06:45 AM
UPDATE:
I reset the keyboard defaults and still have the same problem. However when I press the autopilot buttons with the mouse on the panel they behave normally. It's only when I push the keyboard commands that they act up.

I really hope someone knows how to fix this simply. It's extremely annoying.

Carl.

http://www.flightsim.com/dcforum/User_files/3c50a61d3488b093.jpg

aguent
01-28-2002, 08:02 AM
Hi, Carl,

there are different function names for assinging your keys. The names you used, set AP HDG, Alt, VS, SPD to the current value and the other set it to the values preset in the AP.

For example the AP_HDG_HOLD toggles the current heading hold but the AP_PANEL_HEADING_HOLD toggles the preset value.

You should download the list of FS2000 Controls and the FS2002 controls from Peter Dowson at www.schiratti.com. This documents explain all keyboard commands and their use. In real world autopilots like the B767 / 767 PIC both commands are used. You can use the current heading by hitting the HDG HOLD button and use a preset value by pushing the HDG SEL knob.


Tony

CarlosTheTackle
01-28-2002, 08:28 AM
OK. Thanks. 1 step in the right direction.

Why is it that before I reassigned the keys the keyboard autopilot toggles activated the preset values, but since the re-assignment the keys activate the current values? And how, specifically can I change them back? I can't see any values for AP_PANEL_HEADING_HOLD in the FS2002.cfg. Anywhere else I should look.

Ok. I'll go read those files, although I read them once before and they seemed a little bit technical for me. Thanks for your help so far. :-jumpy

Carl.

http://www.flightsim.com/dcforum/User_files/3c50a61d3488b093.jpg

CarlosTheTackle
01-28-2002, 09:24 AM
Whew. I think we're sorted. I just entered a couple of new lines into the FS2002.cfg file and they worked!!!
:-jumpy :-jumpy :-jumpy :-jumpy

It's now 3 am so I think I better hit the sack but roll on tomorrow evening for the major re-assignment. I see we've got keys for individual light controls too, so I hopefully I can finally turn on my taxi lights and beacon from the keyboard, something I've wanted to do for a while.

Thanks a lot for your help. Much appreciated.

:-cool

Carl.

http://www.flightsim.com/dcforum/User_files/3c50a61d3488b093.jpg